Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Cubase fades on midi

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Cubase fades on midi

    Sign in to disable this ad
    How does one go about creating fades on midi instruments (vsti) much like with dragging the ears on audio WAVs.

    I can automate but this is more cumbersome.

    Any work around?
    Last edited by Clarence222; 3 Weeks Ago at 11:26.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    essex
    Posts
    3,215
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 481 Times in 434 Posts
    Rep Power
    4438112
    Controllers. Depending on how they respond, in the edit screen below the notes is a display that shows usually velocity for each note. You can change this to display pan, volume, expression, pitchbend etc, and if you use the pen tool, you can draw in fade ins and outs and I tend to use expression normally, but controller 7 volume if expression does something different. Some of them will also move the faders.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Auburn NY
    Posts
    2,895
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts
    Rep Power
    6808373
    Automation is best practice in my opinion. Just hit W on the track and move the volume. It will then bring up the automation, just pencil it in exactly how you want.
    My home studio ---> www.nerolstudio.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Yeah I was thinking of automating but don't really like to use it. Even when automating a vocal I prefer just to creating gain automation on the WAVs. This way I can always change the overall volume easily after. Bit off topic but I read somewhere that gain automation is actually more effient than volume automation...?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Location
    Italy
    Age
    36
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    It's important to understand that you can't do a fade in or out on MIDI materials, it just doesn't make sense, MIDI is not audio. Usually, you can modify a MIDI CC that controls some parameters of the virtual instrument (output volume in this case). This is not an automation; these are MIDI data (as notes are). The automation can be done on the audio output of the virtual instrument. Anyway, my suggestion would be: do rough automation on the audio output of the VSTi while producing. When you're ready to mix disable the automation, export/render the audio and do the definitive fades directly on the audio events. This way, it becomes much easier to control everything with great precision...

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. getting into x fades
    By kip4 in forum Mixing Techniques
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-12-2012, 10:19
  2. Fades
    By buckkillr8 in forum Don't Fear The Reaper
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-26-2009, 17:56
  3. Need some help with fades..
    By Mike_J in forum Don't Fear The Reaper
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-25-2008, 20:17
  4. midi track fades?
    By ggduff in forum Steinberg / Cubase User Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-01-2007, 20:17

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •