Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Could a Cubase file be sent out for Mastering?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    214
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    5227

    Could a Cubase file be sent out for Mastering?

    Sign in to disable this ad
    I know a Pro Tools file can, I'm really new to a lot of this, but can it? I'm going to record my friends band and they want to get it send out to be mastered, just asking before I do anything. Thank you all for reading this newbie post, haha.

    Take care,
    Adam.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Ottawa, ON, Canada
    Age
    54
    Posts
    12,874
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    42716
    Mixing is not the same as Mastering - Mastering generally deals with a final 2-ch. (or surround) mix.... a mastering house wouldn't need or use a Cubase project file - they work with final mixes...

    Mixing involves blending all the tracks together to form a final mix....
    [size=1][b]bruce valeriani
    [url=http://www.bluebearsound.com/articles]recording articles[/url][/b]

    [url=http://www.bluebearsound.com][img]http://www.bluebearsound.com/images/bb_siglogo.jpg[/img][/url][/size]

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    656
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    214487
    Generally a mastering engineer will want a stereo file, not the multitrack session file. Just bounce your mix to a stereo interleaved WAV or AIFF file and give that to the mastering engineer.
    Eric

    Practice Your Mixing Skills!
    Mix Our Tracks in Your DAW!
    www.Raw-Tracks.com
    Online Mixing Forum

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Worldwide-based in YAY AREA
    Age
    41
    Posts
    808
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    25209

    mastering

    Ya, you want to bounce the mix to a stereo .Wav file. If your mix is in a high bit rate like 24 bit 48k, bounce it to the highest bit rate you have your session in. A lot of mastering engineers like to have high bit rates so they have more options. And make sure you don't compress the mix on the master fader. It's O.K. to compress individual tracks like vocals and instruments, just don't compress the whole mix, the mastering engineer will do that.

    And send two CDs, one in DATA format and one in AUDIO CD format.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Ottawa, ON, Canada
    Age
    54
    Posts
    12,874
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    42716
    Quote Originally Posted by BeatsBuY
    Ya, you want to bounce the mix to a stereo .Wav file. If your mix is in a high bit rate like 24 bit 48k, bounce it to the highest bit rate you have your session in. A lot of mastering engineers like to have high bit rates so they have more options. And make sure you don't compress the mix on the master fader.
    Just a correction - you're mis-using the term "bit rate" when you mean "bit depth" or "word size"............. bit rate references the number of bits per second used in audio/video compression such as MP3s and MPEGs........
    [size=1][b]bruce valeriani
    [url=http://www.bluebearsound.com/articles]recording articles[/url][/b]

    [url=http://www.bluebearsound.com][img]http://www.bluebearsound.com/images/bb_siglogo.jpg[/img][/url][/size]

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    214
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    5227
    Thanks for all the information guys. Consider me learned.

    Take care,
    Adam.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Age
    34
    Posts
    362
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    33
    Send them a 2 track bounce, but keep the sample rate and bit depth the same as your session. Write the disk as a data disk instead of burning an audio CD.

    Mastering houses have super high quality converters that will convert your bounce to a 44.1/16 bit file after the engineer is done with his/her editing.
    Pro Tools LE 8.0.4
    Digi 003
    iMac 3.06 GHz 8GB RAM
    OS X 10.6.6

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Cubase file formats
    By NYMorningstar in forum Steinberg / Cubase User Forum
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10-31-2004, 10:10
  2. Convert .all file to MIDI w/o using Cubase?
    By Tripecac in forum Steinberg / Cubase User Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-26-2004, 06:36
  3. my pc reboots when i open an MPEG file in cubase
    By earworm in forum Steinberg / Cubase User Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-01-2004, 10:58
  4. Non-newbie Cubase SX sync issues
    By Taufactor in forum Steinberg / Cubase User Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-04-2004, 13:24
  5. Does cubase save a backup file for projects ? I erased it by mistake ...
    By gilwe in forum Steinberg / Cubase User Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-19-2002, 17:03

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •