Audio Recording with Cubase sx3

gabmeyer

Hi Everyone,

I am quite new to this cubase world, then maybe some of my questions may look obvious for some of you....for instance I need some help !!!

When I record various audio tracks in cubase separately (for example, guitar, voice and sax) the second track is also recording the sound of the first track. I then get a second track with all information recorded on track 1 and 2 and so on. I I record a 3rd track I will record all other 2 tracks again !!! Is this normal or am I making something weird....

Thanks for a quick comprehensive response

Gabmeyer

Be sure only to arm(record enable) the track/tracks you want to record to. The circular red button is record enable.

Are you using stereo tracks all the time?

Thanks for your answer. Well I am not using stereo tracks. I try using mono and stereo but it is not working. See what happens is that if I record, say a guitar track first and then I want to add another track with voice, the second track seams to record also the first track. Then I get the second track with voice and guitar together....??? strange ???

How can I get tracks only with their own instrument or voice without mixing with the others....

Thanks so much for your answer...I'm getting frustrated and nothing I tryed seams to work.

Gabmeyer

Oh right, the output of your original track is being input to your overdub. Make sure the input for the track you're recording is looking at the source of that signal only i.e. the input you've plugged your guitar/mic into.

What's your set up? Are you going through an interface to a mixer and then back in? If so, you're playback and recorded tracks are getting mixed at the mixer.

If that is the case, then try connecting your mixer and interface using the Tape In and Tape Outs. I *believe* your playback will stay separated but you can still hear them while tracking. But, I'm not positive.