Newbie here! lookin to get a drum machine...need some guidance.

shaynebishoptls

I've been checkin around on ebay and a few other places online and i have no clue as to what i'm looking for in a drum machine. I want it to be able to hook up to my pc and have touch pads, wait thats about all i know i want. I came across the Boss 770 i believe it is what its called(blue with yellow buttons?), it seems good....ANyone got any suggestions? Thanx, Shane

Get over to Roland's site and request their free DVD catalog. Great demo there of their $500 SPS sampling drumpad. I'm saving up for one myself.

I have the Boss 770. It is easy to program patterns and create drum tracks for entire songs, IMO I don't think the drum sounds are all that great. I normally just trigger a V-Drum TD6 with the DR 770. I also have a Zoom 125(?) I think the drum sounds are pretty good on that machine but I'm not fond of the programming part.

Boss DR 770

I own that machine too. It is pretty easy to program, once you get the hang of it. I also think the drum sounds are good.

There are lots of features that I haven't tapped into yet -- probably more than I need.

This is the only drum machine I've owned or used, so I can't really compare it to any others. But I will say it is easier to use than I'd anticipated.

Not to spam or nothing but...

I'm selling a DR.660 for $150... It's the brother of the 770. I don't think there is much difference in the 2. I know the 770 has a few more internal sounds and efx and maybe there's a extra parameter or 2 you can tweak but nothing major from my understanding.

I also have a DR5 i should probably let go of...

If interested just PM me...

Re: Not to spam or nothing but...

LAZI said:
I'm selling a DR.660 for $150... It's the brother of the 770. I don't think there is much difference in the 2. I know the 770 has a few more internal sounds and efx and maybe there's a extra parameter or 2 you can tweak but nothing major from my understanding.