using reverb plug in-newbie

MissyH

I need help! I'm new at pro tools le. I've recorded some tracks to learn best mic placement, etc. for each instrument and voice, etc. Now I'm trying out the plug ins I believe I'll need (compressor, eq, reverb). I used the compressor fine but when I tried the reverb (dverb) included with the le, it sounded ok when I previewed the settings I had made, but when I hit process and then listened to the track it had lost all kinds of volume. What did I do wrong? Also, in what order would I apply those 3 plug ins. Thank you if anyone can help me.

I wouldn't AudioSuite anything to be honest, at least not until you start running out of processing power. Your computer should be able to run quite a few tracks with plugins before it runs out of power.

Create a new stereo Aux track. Insert the dverb on this new aux track. Set the input to be, say bus1-2. Then, on your guitar or vocal track (or whatever track you're trying to apply reverb to), create a send to bus 1-2.

So I have 2 things I did wrong? One is using audiosuite and the other is I didn't know how to do it correctly? If I had used some other reverb (if I could've found it!) would I have run it without making an aux file? I'm sorry to sound so stupid. I HAVE been reading and studying a lot. I think I'm going to buy a book though...Thank you.

Using Aux tracks is not always necessary. It depends on how many tracks you are putting plugins on and what your computer can handle. If you are just recording a few tracks and need some verb it's ok to just insert them individually. I don't know why you would have lost vol. during processing though. I've never experienced that problem.

Rusty K