transfering tracks between identical systems

Snydley

Sorry if this has been gone over before, but I'm a newb. :o
I recently recorded some songs with a band I played with 30yrs. ago,(we had a reunion), on a Digidesign 003 Rack+ Factory Pro Tools 8 LE system our bass player bought. It went so well I went out and bought the same identical system. The rest of the guys lives in S. Carolina, I live in N.Y. Our idea was to have them record their parts on their system in S.C. and send the data to me, I would then load it into my system and add my drum parts, and then send it back to them in S.C.
How difficult is this to do? I've been working with computers for over 20 years, the bass player almost as long and we both "get around" on computers pretty well. We are both new to home recording though. We are both running this on Windows XP systems.
Is it just a matter of burning a specific folder or 2 to CD, or do they have to export the data, and then I would import it, etc. Is there a FAQ or guide anywhere that covers this?
I appreciate any help given.
Thanks,
Snyde

Hey Snydley (great name btw)
Bit of a noob myself but I would assume you can just save the session on one PC, go into that folder and ZIP it all up, then they can send it over to you or upload it on rapidshare etc for you to download, then you can just open it on your session.
Alternatively if they are recording to a Firewire drive they could always ship that to you, although id make a backup!
Id suggest trying it with a small session first bit of guitar or bass etc,
Perhaps some of the experts can suggest something else? Im not sure if there would be any sound loss in either suggestion.
Mick

yeah that's right.

with protools it's straight forward, as all the session info is stored in one folder. (named whatever you called the session)

This folder includes fade files, audio files, backups, plugin settings, session layout etc etc etc.