Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Setting up a Headphone Mix

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    the Middle East (DC, MD, VA)
    Age
    34
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Setting up a Headphone Mix

    Sign in to disable this ad
    Hey, whats goin on y'all?

    I was wondering if anyone could help me in setting up a headphone mix in Pro Tools. I wanna put a lil reverb or delay on my voice so when I record, my voice isnt so dry in my headphones (it makes for a better performance, its a psychological thing). I dont want the reverb/delay to be recorded to the track though, I just wanna be able to hear it through the headphones. I'm pretty sure you can do this and all you have to set up an Aux Channel and some other stuff to make it happen; I just havent been able to find out the specifics on how to yet.

    Thanks y'all!

    - Kase

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Kansas City
    Posts
    4,581
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    319739
    well, first off you can't record the effect to the same track you're recording to (well, you can...but it takes a little more trickery than just record arming a track that has the reverb insert on it)

    still...typically I would suggest just creating a normal audio track, and adding a send to it. Bus that send to an aux track that has the reverb on it. BAM! Easy.

    Kind of what you would call a "headphone mix"...but easier

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    39948
    Wouldn't you run into latency problems like this? I want to say that any track you are recording on gets all effects bypassed, unless you disable low latency monitoring which is pretty well unusable for song recording.

    If you send the output of the channel you are recording on to a bus, set an aux channel input to that bus, then set the output of that bus to the mains, you're saying you can add effects to the aux channel without messing up the low latency thing? That would certainly have the desired effect, wouldn't it?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Kansas City
    Posts
    4,581
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    319739
    not the output...bus a send on the audio track to the aux track. Something simple like D-Verb doesn't have any latency to it (unless of course you add a pre-delay to it).
    I do it all the time this way.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    39948
    Quote Originally Posted by bennychico11 View Post
    not the output...bus a send on the audio track to the aux track. Something simple like D-Verb doesn't have any latency to it (unless of course you add a pre-delay to it).
    I do it all the time this way.
    After posting my response, I decided it would be best to read the manual. Wow, I have been doing things the hard way for 3 years now...
    -> -> ->

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    39948
    Perhaps I'm missing something here...

    I got the sends to work just fine and was able to apply the effects to the aux channel just fine, but as soon as you record arm the audio track you want to record, the send gets bypassed with an error message popping up saying (something like) "Send's bypass status cannot be changed while track is in low latency mode". If I disable low latency monitoring, the send/effect works, but then your playback is delayed from the source which I find useless for any tracks.

    Are you not using the low latency monitoring?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Kansas City
    Posts
    4,581
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    319739
    oh, no sorry. I don't use it...I'm on a TDM system. I really haven't used an LE system in several years. So I don't come across the latency thing anymore.

    what interface are you using? I'm guessing a USB one. Do you still get a lot of latency with just a low playback buffer?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    39948
    Digi 002, a firewire device. The latency can get to be pretty bad, especially as the tracks get more advanced/developed. Enough that I don't want to record without the low latency monitoring enabled... I've not tried adjusting the buffer size to be smaller, that may help...

    Envious of the TDM rig...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Kansas City
    Posts
    4,581
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    319739
    start with the buffer. It'll be in your Setup menus. That the first place you should always check. I personally get by with it set to 1024 samples. I used to have a 002 and I think 512 worked for me then. Of course it does matter how many tracks and plugins you are working with then. I hardly ever use plugins when tracking

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    120
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    2064

    Here is my solution

    This latency has been a problem with pro tools since i believe 7.0 for me. (or CPU overload)

    Digi has done a real bad job with this and has improved this greatly in 7.4 (you can record with no problems at 128 for latency)

    SO. if you bus your desired tracks to an AUX with your effects on them and then you should be good.

    This is how I do it.

    MUTE (Track that i'm recording to.)
    Bus on track to an AUX (the aux has the effects)
    Change the aux to send level to your outputs


    Hope this helps!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. final mix before mastering
    By tone_aot in forum Mixing Techniques
    Replies: 42
    Last Post: 11-25-2010, 06:37
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-07-2006, 21:07
  3. More Volume on CD Master?
    By MONTE in forum Mixing Techniques
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 02-13-2005, 20:04
  4. Headphone Amp/Talkback Mix Question
    By theodd in forum Gear Reviews & Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-06-2004, 03:16
  5. Setting up a compressor to "duck" other tracks in a mix
    By Simmons in forum Mixing Techniques
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-10-2003, 08:27

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •