Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Recording Instrumentals

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Cali
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    17

    Recording Instrumentals

    Sign in to disable this ad
    I've been lucky enough to have access to 2 great beat makers, but at the same time limited to only 2 track/stereo instrumentals. I'd like to be able to seperate tracks/layers for full control, but I am not sure of the easiest way to do this, when their keyboards only have a stereo output.

    I have came up with this theory, but i dont know if it will work. if i were to record the midi information on to protools, could i then replay the midi track so that the keyboard fallows/syncs with it..(to keep the layers/tracks on beat)... and we could mute all the the tracks/layers except 1, and eventually record what 1 layer does through out a song... and basically go 1 track/layer at a time, untill i have full control of the whole beat???

    am i in the ballpark??? or am i missing something??? any help would be greatly appreciated. thank you for your time.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Kansas City
    Posts
    4,581
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    319739
    yep, that's typically how it's done

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Cali
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    17
    really? like right on the nose??? is there n e "step by step" listings n e where that will help??? i dont mess wit midi to much (if at all).. im sure i can just go head first wit nothing but a prayer and limited knowledge on the subject, but if theres anything that can help, id appreciate it.

    once again, thank u for your time.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    two blocks over
    Age
    21
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    We get hip hop artists coming in with beats on keyboards, etc. I find the quickest and easiest way to get tracks into PT is to just record them (stereo out to hardware), one by one.

    This allows us to set up pre-amp/compression for each track, etc (kick will be different than piano for example). By skipping the MIDI step, the tracks may be off a tiny bit but this is easily fixable by sliding the audio region til things are in sync, and I've also found this technique adds a little "human touch" since beat tracks can often sound a little mechanical when things are all quantized, etc.

    Just food for thought.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Can I get advice from those who have a home studio?
    By Chrisku13 in forum Studio Building & Acoustic Treatment
    Replies: 56
    Last Post: 08-21-2006, 22:20
  2. Replies: 20
    Last Post: 02-14-2005, 12:40
  3. Recording set-up
    By geeq in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-18-2003, 09:33
  4. Delta 44 vs. Windows Recording Mixer. God help me.
    By Shepherd in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-09-2003, 06:39
  5. Inexperienced, need help recording my band
    By sprynmr in forum Recording Techniques
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-12-2003, 04:40

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •