Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29

Thread: Pt crashes every time on session close

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    paradise
    Posts
    4,340
    Thanks
    102
    Thanked 552 Times in 497 Posts
    Rep Power
    8012023

    Pt crashes every time on session close

    Sign in to disable this ad
    Weird. Been doing this for a while. I'll close a session, it asks about saving it, and as soon as I hit save it crashes.

    Then i have to reboot the computer to open up pt again. Oddly everything I did in my last session is as I left it. So it must be saving something.
    Any ideas, Steen ?
    ;-)
    Seems you're the one always answering my pt questions.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    U.K.
    Age
    33
    Posts
    19,392
    Thanks
    1,198
    Thanked 1,014 Times in 895 Posts
    Rep Power
    1000000
    I saw the AVID logo lighting up in the sky and came as quick as I could.

    I don't think I've seen this first hand but I think I'd try creating a new blank session then saving and quitting, to rule out any media/locations/plugins etc.
    If you're saving to an external location, try creating a session on desktop as a test.

    If you still see the problem under those circumstances, I'd quit PT and run the preferences trasher app and restart.

    What version and OS are you running? My experience with 8 and older is that preference trasher app should have a shortcut.
    ---------- Steenaudio Website ----------

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    paradise
    Posts
    4,340
    Thanks
    102
    Thanked 552 Times in 497 Posts
    Rep Power
    8012023
    Ah, the AVid beacon worked!

    I'm running windows 7

    I spent some time cleaning stuff out and it's working better now.

    First off, since i installed elevenrack, that bastard hijacked my audio I/O. Protools was still using my normal interface, but anything else audio was going to the elevenrack outputs which aren't even hooked up!
    Fixed that.

    Second I'm running both PT and Reaper.

    Reaper has this thing of creating peakfiles along with the wave files. So PT, when looking for files, always gave me a 'files not found' error message.

    Any wav files that are stored that have been used in reaper, now have both the wav, and the 'peak' files. It's no longer just a folder for wav files.


    I was sctraching my head, as to why 16 wav files could turn into 32.

    Gonna have to figure out a way to seperate out stuff.

    I think why it wasn't crashing before was that I had all my sessions in the 'recent sessions'

    The studio was taken down for a few months and when I hooked it up again, 'recent sessions' was gone.

    I think PT got confused and started crashing.

    Hope any of that made sense.


    More experiments and investigation is needed.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Age
    43
    Posts
    3,652
    Thanks
    116
    Thanked 274 Times in 252 Posts
    Rep Power
    7968219
    I'm no help with ProTools, but with Reaper there is an option to store your peak files in their own folder. I haven't tried this myself (although now I will soon), but take a look at Preferences/Media -> "Put new peak files in peaks/ subfolder relative to media". I think that'll start storing the peak files in a subfolder and leave the WAV files where they normally are.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    paradise
    Posts
    4,340
    Thanks
    102
    Thanked 552 Times in 497 Posts
    Rep Power
    8012023
    Ah good to know!

    It's great fun getting all these beasts to play nice with each other. Lol

    I sincerely think the peak files has to do with PT crashing. Because sessions that have wav files that have never been in Reaper have zero issues! No crash, Nada!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    U.K.
    Age
    33
    Posts
    19,392
    Thanks
    1,198
    Thanked 1,014 Times in 895 Posts
    Rep Power
    1000000
    The presence of Reaper peak files should cause any issue but from your description it sounds like these are wavs that both ProTools and Reaper are accessing at different times?
    That, I imagine, could cause all sorts of problems, particularly if one makes changes to the files.

    Might be nothing to do with nothing but any audio files in a Protools session should be squirreled away in that session's /audio folder, and nothing else should access them.
    ---------- Steenaudio Website ----------

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    paradise
    Posts
    4,340
    Thanks
    102
    Thanked 552 Times in 497 Posts
    Rep Power
    8012023
    Aha! Eureka!!!!
    As soon as I got rid of the reaper 'peak' files, no more protools crashing.

    Now I gotta figure out the moving of the peak files reaper creates into their own folder.
    Thanks for the tip on that, Tadpui.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Tampa, Fl.
    Posts
    1,224
    Thanks
    309
    Thanked 170 Times in 162 Posts
    Rep Power
    733383
    Mine defaulted to the correct path when I installed Reaper (Win 10).

    Preferences / General / Paths

    NBORdPO.jpg
    Failure - - the path of least persistence
    And, uh, oh - hire a decorator to come in here quick, 'cause... DAMN.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    paradise
    Posts
    4,340
    Thanks
    102
    Thanked 552 Times in 497 Posts
    Rep Power
    8012023
    I'll have a look at my preferences later tonight. Thanks

    Edit: manually I went in and did the setup as pictured. My reaper had that path with nothing at all. No default, that I could find anyway.

    We'll see what happens.

    Funny, but what started out as a PT issue morphed into a reaper thread.
    Last edited by RFR; 03-06-2018 at 00:54.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    paradise
    Posts
    4,340
    Thanks
    102
    Thanked 552 Times in 497 Posts
    Rep Power
    8012023
    This is starting to piss me off. I've cleaned everything reaper related out so repeaks is not an issue.

    Everything in the session works fine no crash at all. Then I hit save, next close session. Bam! Get the protools has stopped working, and i have to shut down the computer and reload PT.

    Oddly enough. I'll reopen the previous session and everything is in fact saved the way I last had it.

    Just annoying because I can't just close a session.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Do you leave your gear set up all the time, or do you set up/tear down every session?
    By SweetDan in forum Studio Building & Acoustic Treatment
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 04-05-2017, 16:55
  2. Scan for plugins crashes reaper every time
    By TaylorEGO in forum Don't Fear The Reaper
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-21-2007, 21:03
  3. session drummer stretch time?
    By wfaraoni in forum Cakewalk / Sonar Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-08-2002, 18:08

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •