How does an external drive work with Pro Tools LE?

Jim Digby

This will probably sound like a very daft question, but I am a true novice, sorry!

I have Pro Tools LE MBox Pro 2, version 7.1.3, and have recently been getting an error message: "Audio device buffer underflowed. If this occurs frequently, try decreasing the H/W Buffer Size in the Playback Engine or remove other Firewire devices (-6085 or -6086)" .

Other specs:
iMac Intel 2.16 GHz
OS x 10.4.11
Space: 447.33 GB available
I save my Pro Tools sessions to the internal drive

I have tried decreasing the buffer, increasing it, and I got a new Firewire cable (because a Digidesign engineer told me that "The DAE errors 6086,-6085,-6097 all relate to communication error as a result of a interruption or conflict with the data throughput to the unit."), but none of this has worked, and each time it occurs the session will not allow me to continue either recording or playing back for very long.

To cut a long story short, something I read elsewhere online has led me to believe that I might possibly solve the problem by getting an external drive to record onto instead of my internal drive. Someone said on an old thread "Recording to the internal HD is not supported (or recommended). The read/write heads have difficulty accessing the audio files and OS at the same time." So I have been considering buying this external drive: 50GB Glyph GT 050 FireWire 400