Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Avid 11 Rack issue: Tuner crashing computer

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    N.W. Indiana
    Posts
    1,002
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    Rep Power
    6963832

    Avid 11 Rack issue: Tuner crashing computer

    Sign in to disable this ad
    As the title suggests, when ever I try using the built in tuner in the 11 Rack, it'll work for a few seconds, then I get the oops/blue screen. If I engage the tuner in the 11 Rack editor, it's almost immediately and the tuner does not work at all. If I engage the tuner from the hardware it'll work, even while the computer is froze and rebooting.

    And FYI I'm not using PT as my DAW. Using Cakewalk. (Cakewalk has a step sequencer. Can't find one in PT11)

    I've tried reinstalling the 11 rack drivers and the 11 Rack editor.

    *On a side note, WTF is with Avid charging to even get in to customer support?*

    Any help is much appreciated.
    Wow, now I feel really stupid. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Texas USA
    Posts
    1,474
    Thanks
    111
    Thanked 286 Times in 265 Posts
    Rep Power
    1407191
    The bluescreen (aka BSOD) only happens when Cakewalk is open, and no other DAW?

    Typically this kind of failure happens due to a driver fault, and should not be able to be caused directly by an application program since it's running in user mode.

    Windows version? There's some way to make sure these kinds of faults get reported back to MSFT, and if it's a supported version of the OS, they should (sooner or later) identify the driver and forwward the problem to the source. I'd guess the Avid driver, if I had to place odds.
    "... I know in the mornin' that it's gonna be good
    when I stick out my elbows and they don't bump wood." - Bill Kirchen

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    N.W. Indiana
    Posts
    1,002
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    Rep Power
    6963832
    Hmm, did some testing. Opened PT11, no issues with the tuner. Either by engaging with the 11Rack editor or pushing button on unit.
    Same with DAW's closed. Still worked. Issue must be in Cakewalk. Thanks for the reply though.
    Wow, now I feel really stupid. Thanks.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Avid Eleven Rack vs Logic Amp Designer
    By rjdinsmore in forum Guitars and Basses
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-17-2013, 15:52
  2. Anyone looking for a cheap rack tuner?
    By lbanks in forum Free Ads for Music/Recording Equipment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-21-2012, 17:11
  3. FS:Sabine RT-1601 Rack Tuner
    By lbanks in forum Free Ads for Music/Recording Equipment
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-30-2007, 05:58
  4. whats the best rack tuner for the money?
    By buryher17 in forum The Rack
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-01-2007, 18:45
  5. Rack Mount Tuner
    By Executivos in forum Guitars and Basses
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-26-2001, 01:27

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •