Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: afraid this is a dumb question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Location
    Shorewood, IL.
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0

    afraid this is a dumb question

    Sign in to disable this ad
    Hi,
    I ended up having to replace my PC. long story short, the DIGI001 PCI card doesn't fit in the new express slots. I know, short sighted on my part. I ended up getting a new FOCUSRITE 18i20. Question is, can the DIGI 001 be connected without the PCI card another way, SPDIF? some type of cable adapter? Obviously I don't understand SPDIF. I realize it's a longshot.
    It's not that I have to have it. I have a Behringer ADA8200 that bumps me up to 16 tracks. Just thought if I was able to connect it, the extra tracks would be nice.
    Feel free to hammer me.
    I have tried to find an answer before bugging you guys. Haven't used Pro Tools in quite awhile and could not remember my AVID login so I came to where I have gotten help in other areas before,
    Thanks,
    Jack

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    U.K.
    Age
    35
    Posts
    19,833
    Thanks
    1,243
    Thanked 1,087 Times in 962 Posts
    Rep Power
    1000000
    Hi Jack,
    If I remember correctly the Digi001 breakout box is powered by the PCI card so no, you wouldn't be able to use it as a standalone converter.

    SP/DIF on the 18i20 it's two channel digital audio so ideal devices to connect there would be effects units or two channel mic preamps with stereo spdif rca/coaxial output.
    ---------- Steenaudio Website ----------

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Location
    Shorewood, IL.
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0

    Thank you

    Quote Originally Posted by jtskalon View Post
    Hi,
    I ended up having to replace my PC. long story short, the DIGI001 PCI card doesn't fit in the new express slots. I know, short sighted on my part. I ended up getting a new FOCUSRITE 18i20. Question is, can the DIGI 001 be connected without the PCI card another way, SPDIF? some type of cable adapter? Obviously I don't understand SPDIF. I realize it's a longshot.
    It's not that I have to have it. I have a Behringer ADA8200 that bumps me up to 16 tracks. Just thought if I was able to connect it, the extra tracks would be nice.
    Feel free to hammer me.
    I have tried to find an answer before bugging you guys. Haven't used Pro Tools in quite awhile and could not remember my AVID login so I came to where I have gotten help in other areas before,
    Thanks,
    Jack
    Thanks for clearing that up for me. Time to hit the FOR SALE sites!
    Jack

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    U.K.
    Age
    35
    Posts
    19,833
    Thanks
    1,243
    Thanked 1,087 Times in 962 Posts
    Rep Power
    1000000
    Pleasure.
    001 is pretty old tech now, as you know, but you might have some luck getting a sale in retro audio/gaming communities,
    or just on eBay or whatever.
    ---------- Steenaudio Website ----------

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. This may seem like a dumb question but....
    By Greg_L in forum Drums and Percussion
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 01-05-2010, 22:27
  2. Dumb question, but still need to know
    By progmr in forum MIDI Mania
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-03-2006, 09:29
  3. The Fostex A8 Box... Be Afraid... Be Very Afraid
    By Beck in forum Analog Recording & Mixing - Tape & Gear
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-02-2005, 16:17
  4. Christmas single - be afraid, be very afraid
    By cardiff jon in forum MP3 Mixing Clinic
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-18-2003, 13:05

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •