VF160 - recording bass

doughulin

a newbie here...I just recently got a vf160 and I'm pretty happy with it, everyone seems to agree that the eq could be improved, especially the bass. Anyone have any suggestions on how they've gotten a good tone? I'm using an ampeg combo and miking it rather than using the direct out (too much noise). Should I take some of the lows out on the amp itself, or perhaps eq the signal on the way in to the vf160? Or, what is the best way to tweak the highs and mids in playback/mixdown in order to get something other than a horrible groaning sound? Many thanks for any ideas.

Hiya. You need a DI box. I get great bass recording on my VF80 (well, I think that are:) ) and I suspect you've got signal chain issues rather than the Fostex's shortcomings. You really need to get the sound right going in and not mess around with the VF's eq. Also mic'ing a bass cab is not an operation to be undertaken lightly. I'd suggest you do a search on Bass DI and you'll get some really helpful stuff.

Best wishes

Garry

thanks Garry, I hadn't thought of a DI box but now it seems obvious. I guess you're suggesting I do all of my eq'ing on the amp itself, run it through the DI box and into the vf160, and then I won't need to mess with the vf160's eq. I suppose I'll just need to experiment with my amp's eq to see what tone turns out to be the best once recorded.

at any rate, do you recommend any brand of DI that you have been happy with or know to be high quality? Thanks again, much appreciated.

Doug

Doug

You've got a choice between the easy way and the best way....

Easy way is, if your amp has a DI out or a Line out, hook that up to the VF160 (turn the VF's input trim all the way down). You're now using the amp's pre and eq, which will almost certainly be better than the Fostex's.