A storage question for FD-4 owners

Jim Marquard

Well, I have finally jumped to the digital recording world. Couldn't resist a great buy--a brand new FD-4 for $299.99, but without storage (Musician's Friend internet special). So my question is what kind of storage medium works well and at what kind of cost. I'm thinking a ZIP drive (250 mb) for now, though I like the idea of an internal hard drive. Can the internal hard drive be added on at home? Can I get the download for the update of the software necessary from Fostex. Also, has anyone found a good deal on SCSI extarnal hard drives for these things. FD-8 owners might be able to answer some of these questions. And yes, I will be e-mailing the techs at Fostex, but I figures I would get a faster response on this website.

Thanks in advance,

Jim

Hey Cheesehead!

I have the FD-8 w/250 Zip. I'm still learning with it, but so far I have about four unfinished songs on one zip disk. I like it alot.

hey man. i have an fd-4 and a 250meg zip drive. i got the drive from egghead.com. 140$
with free shipping. and you get a 20$ mail in rebate. hope this helps.

Can either of you guys tell me how to get stereo effect through the FD-8(I believe the FD-4 is the same).

The unit has what appears to be mono effects sends ( 1 & 2 ) and also stereo returns( L&R 1 and L&R 2 ) How in the world are you supposed to add effects at to the whole mix if you cant send a stereo signal to a procesor? What good is it to send mono? The processor cant return stereo if it gets mono? Right?

Thanks

Hey Jimmy,