Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: A storage question for FD-4 owners

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Waupun, Wisconsin (Cheese State)
    Posts
    323
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    1249

    Wink

    Sign in to disable this ad
    Well, I have finally jumped to the digital recording world. Couldn't resist a great buy--a brand new FD-4 for $299.99, but without storage (Musician's Friend internet special). So my question is what kind of storage medium works well and at what kind of cost. I'm thinking a ZIP drive (250 mb) for now, though I like the idea of an internal hard drive. Can the internal hard drive be added on at home? Can I get the download for the update of the software necessary from Fostex. Also, has anyone found a good deal on SCSI extarnal hard drives for these things. FD-8 owners might be able to answer some of these questions. And yes, I will be e-mailing the techs at Fostex, but I figures I would get a faster response on this website.

    Thanks in advance,

    Jim

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Posts
    298
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    22

    Wink

    Hey Cheesehead!

    I have the FD-8 w/250 Zip. I'm still learning with it, but so far I have about four unfinished songs on one zip disk. I like it alot.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Cool

    hey man. i have an fd-4 and a 250meg zip drive. i got the drive from egghead.com. 140$
    with free shipping. and you get a 20$ mail in rebate. hope this helps.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Posts
    298
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    22

    Wink

    Can either of you guys tell me how to get stereo effect through the FD-8(I believe the FD-4 is the same).

    The unit has what appears to be mono effects sends ( 1 & 2 ) and also stereo returns( L&R 1 and L&R 2 ) How in the world are you supposed to add effects at to the whole mix if you cant send a stereo signal to a procesor? What good is it to send mono? The processor cant return stereo if it gets mono? Right?

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Waupun, Wisconsin (Cheese State)
    Posts
    323
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    1249

    Wink

    Hey Jimmy,

    For effects like reverb, flange, chorus, and so forth most mixers have mono sends and stero returns. This is because the track source is mono but the effect will then pan across the entire mix. Also realize that your effect is a mix of the "dry" source and the "wet" effect. What this does is allow your "dry" source to be panned into the stereo field where you want it but allow the effect to move across the stereo field to give depth perception--much like live music does in classical music with each intstument being a mono source but the music does move across the room though a violin on the left side of stage will sound as if it is from the left side of stage. That being said, certain effects, like EQ and compression for a total mix are not added "wet", they are there to give definite shape to a mix and particularly so in a final mix or master. These work either by sending your main outs directly to such devices in stereo and then the stereo outs of this device to your recording device. Some more expensive mixers will have main "inserts" so you can actually hear the result to be recorded. In a lot of cases you must here the mix as it comes from these devices. You can also send a track to such a device through channel inserts, but this is usually done before it has been recorded on portastudios (such as the FD-4 or FD-8, though it may be, I'm not sure since I don't have mine yet). Short and sweet, I guess I would have to say, don't be too concern about it, it works, really. I hope all that helped clarify your question. By the way, that is the recording engineer in you trying to figure this out. Congrats for taking the next step.

    Peace, Jim

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Posts
    298
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    22

    Wink

    Thanks Jim,

    Believe or not I actually understood all of that. Thats what is so great about this whole BBS thing. Sometimes you just need a second opinion or to talk to someone who knows what they are doing.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Waupun, Wisconsin (Cheese State)
    Posts
    323
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    1249

    Wink

    Can anybody tell me where you can get 250 mb ZIP cartridges cheap--if there is such a thing. At $15+ a piece that gets kind of expensive for a couple of songs each.

    Peace, Jim

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Waupun, Wisconsin (Cheese State)
    Posts
    323
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    1249

    Talking

    Top Jimmy,

    Who knows what they're doing? LOL Oh man, don't tell me that's a requirement. I won't be able to post ever again. Speaking of knowing whats goin on, check out this article from ProRec about decibels. The part about consumer inputs (-10dB) and pro (+4 dB) ought to get a few arguments going. I'm gonna post this article on the record and mix forums. By the way, the rest of the article is pretty revealing though I had a headache for a couple of hours afterwards from all the scietific info. www.musiciansfriend.com/cgi-bin/doc?doc=prorec,pro11900.html&src=60135

    Peace, Jim

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Wink

    i think you maybe stuck with $15 a piece unless you buy in bulk.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Waupun, Wisconsin (Cheese State)
    Posts
    323
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    1249

    Wink

    Alright, I finally got the FD-4. One surprise was the fact that you don't get "trim" controls with the XLR inputs. Is this a problem for anyone? Also, all the literature talks about 100mb ZIP discs not being able to use master mode with the two additional tracks. Is this true also for 250mb ZIP discs? Any great buys out there on ZIP drives or SCSI hard drives in the 2-4gb range?

    Thanks, Jim

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •