Interfacing Fostex FD -4 with a computer

KenD

Hi, Im new to the FD4 and assumed that I could get the files out onto the hard disk of my computer. Looking at the messages posted here it looks:- a) that its impossible
:b) that I can transfer it through the data out port at the back through an optical cable.
Can anyone give me the real word on how to do this and what I need in the way of cables etc.
Thanks in advance
KenD

I intend to route the recorded FD-4 music to my sound card via analog and record it as a WAV file. I can then burn a CD with my burner. Not as good as digital/digital, but I bet it still beats the crap out of cassette tape!

KenD,

I dump my FD4 to my computer. I had to get the optical converter from Fostex that converts to digital, then, I got a converter at MARS to go from digital to USB. Or, if you have a digital sound card you can eliminate one converter. But I found the digital sound cards that would do the trick, were fairly expensive. Then you have to go to the setup menu on the FD4 and scroll to the outputs and tell it to send the digital signal out the optical port. You can only send 2 channels at a time. I haven't had a problem and it works real well.
Good luck

bbb music -- Can you really dump direct to a USB connection with adapters? How much did they cost? I use an fd8 and wanted to dump the music to the computer. I don't use the computer for much recording now. Is it possible to send from the computer back to the fd8? Why i ask is that say you arrange a song on the computer and then want to add a part. You'll need to record it and monitor the song right?

ADAM,
The optical to digital I got from Fostex, it was about $89. The digital to USB is made by OPCODE and you can get them from most music stores. It was $129. Not all that cheap but, I wanted to use my laptop for my "studio" and the only route to go was USB. It works super.