Fostex VF-16 User Review

chrisr

The Fostex VF-16 has started shipping -- I received mine on 5/31. I've had it on pre-order from AMS for over 2 months (I guess my order was one of the first, hence the fact that I got it so early).

Since I’m one of the first to receive one of these units, I feel obligated to post a review since I know a lot of people are interested :)

I should mention, I’m not a professional in the music industry or a recording expert. I’m a guitarist interested in home recording and MIDI, strictly for the purpose of developing my own projects (primarily for my own edification). I’ve used a Yamaha MT-100 4 track for several years and was waiting for digital multi-tracking to reach a feature/price point that would justify upgrading. Really, I was interested in an 8-track but when I heard the VF-16 was being released at a price point comparable with other 8-track units (and with a ton more features) I decided to wait. Glad I did, because the unit appears to suit my purposes exactly.

Okay, so here’s what I think of the unit after three days:

POSITIVE:
1.) The sound quality is pristine.
2.) The programming and controls are fairly straightforward (once you get past the learning curve, see comments on the manual below)
3.) The display is very well organized for the various functions
4.) The on-board effects sound great (although, I haven’t had a chance to play with anything except the reverbs)
5.) Built-in compression
6.) EFX inserts on two tracks
7.) Phantom power on two tracks
8.) MIDI slave and master for computer control (haven’t had a chance to use this yet but I will be making use of it in the near future)
9.) Trim control for each channel
10.) Copy/Paste on-board editing with Undo
11.) Export to .WAV – you can then load the individual .WAV files (one for each track) on you computer and edit them with Cool Edit (or whatever) then re-import them back to the VF-16. Very cool…
12.) Optical DAT and SCSI interface