FD-4 vs BR-8?

bahead

I'm an acoustic fingerstyle guitarist focusing on instrumentals, although I will be doing some vocals and overdubs. My interest is in cutting my own CD's for friends and family.

I've previously used a Fostex 4-track cassette and I'm looking at digital multitrackers. In my price range (which is under $800 US), I've narrowed it down to the Fostex FD-4 (with internal 4.3GB HDD) and the Boss BR-8.

The FD-4 appears to win in terms of recording time, ease of use, and backup options (zip, SCSI). The BR-8 wins in terms of number of tracks and onboard effects. Biggest drawback to the BR-8 I can see it that it is using 100 mb zips instead of 250, and also that it uses compression during recording.

I guess I'm just looking for some advice about which way I should go... I'll post this in the Roland forum too.

I have an FD-4i. It has an internal hard drive but, I bought an Orb drive because I can fit so much music time on it and a 2.2 gig disk is only about $30. I record drums, keyboards, guitar, vocals, etc....and I have had great results. And the acoustic material I do comes out flawless. It might pay to by an FD-4 with an internal drive and go with an Orb drive. You'll be happier and save money in the long run.
Later
Bruce

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by bbbmusic:
I bought an Orb drive because I can fit so much music time on it and a 2.2 gig disk is only about $30.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I've noticed a lot of discussion about the Orb drive in this forum. That's the first I've heard of this drive before...is there a webpage I can go to?

Thanks.

Hey man,

You can go for the FD-8 and still be in your budget. I recommend the external Zip 250 . I have had no problems with mine. And the ease of use thing is really a plus

Wow (BBBMUSIC, Another CHEESEHEAD!) this site is full of wisconsin people

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Top Jimmy: