Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Using A Digi 002 with Logic 8

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Using A Digi 002 with Logic 8

    Sign in to disable this ad
    I have a Pro Tools Digi 002 and recently got a NFR version of Apple's Logic Studio. I have been a Pro Tools user for years and since you must have a digidesign interface for their software to work the only interface I have is a Digi 002. I realize that getting a digidesign interface to work with Logic is not the best way to record but at the moment it is all that I have and I would like to use Logic. I have managed to get Logic to recognize the inputs from the Digi 002 but there is a definite delay when recording. I have adjusted buffer sizes and several other parameters and have had no luck in reducing the latency. Also, I can not get Logic to recognize the MIDI inputs from the Digi 002. I don't know if there are any fixes, workarounds or adjustments that would solve these problems, but if anyone has tried this or has any suggestions I would be grateful.

    Thanks in advance,
    -G

    P.S.-- Logic Studio seems to be a truly awesome suite of programs and definitely has Pro Tools beat in some areas.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Seattle, Washington - United State of Nazi Germany
    Posts
    1,319
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    8261249
    hmm that's weird. Are you running Leopard? I know digi is SOOOO slow to get bugs worked out compared to everyone else.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I am running tiger 10.4.11

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    From one 002/pro tools guy to another: just sell it dude. You can get like $800-1000 for it, which is more than enough to set yourself up with a nice MOTU and an external pre or something!

    http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/828mk3/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Burnley/Leeds, England
    Age
    32
    Posts
    942
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    68354
    I have a mate who uses the 002 with Logic 8 - I'll find out his settings or drivers etc and get back to you.
    Last edited by Tifstorey; 03-15-2008 at 11:01.

    "The Irish gave the bagpipes to the Scotts as a joke, but the Scotts haven't seen the joke yet."
    Oliver Herford.

    Proud member of GFCG
    Membership No:
    000 018

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Seattle, Washington - United State of Nazi Germany
    Posts
    1,319
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    8261249
    a friend of mine uses a 002 with logic 8 and he is having problems with the 002 90% of the time.

    MOTUs are very nice, love mine.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I have been a Pro Tools user for years, and I have no real intention of selling my Digi 002. I like Pro Tools and find it a great program for audio; however, digidesign's business practices are a topic for a whole other thread. I have used and still use a wide variety of DAWS and enjoy comparing and learning new programs. I find that no single DAW is perfect and some do certain things better than others. With that in mind, I of course would love to have a MOTU 8 pre, but I just don't have the money for one right now. I think that MOTU makes great gear and the MOTU 8 pre would be a nice addition to my project studio, because it would allow me 8 inputs and MIDI in a standalone interface for use with Logic and as an additional preamps via lightpipe for Pro Tools and my Digi 002. I like the fact that I have access to two great DAWs and the ability to work in multiple platforms. So for the time being until more funds become available I am stuck using my Digi 002 as an interface for Logic. Like I said earlier I can get Logic to recognize my Digi 002 as an interface, however there are some real latency issues and I can't get Logic to recognize the 002's MIDI inputs.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by 8trackfan View Post
    I have been a Pro Tools user for years, and I have no real intention of selling my Digi 002. I like Pro Tools and find it a great program for audio; however, digidesign's business practices are a topic for a whole other thread. I have used and still use a wide variety of DAWS and enjoy comparing and learning new programs. I find that no single DAW is perfect and some do certain things better than others. With that in mind, I of course would love to have a MOTU 8 pre, but I just don't have the money for one right now. I think that MOTU makes great gear and the MOTU 8 pre would be a nice addition to my project studio, because it would allow me 8 inputs and MIDI in a standalone interface for use with Logic and as an additional preamps via lightpipe for Pro Tools and my Digi 002. I like the fact that I have access to two great DAWs and the ability to work in multiple platforms. So for the time being until more funds become available I am stuck using my Digi 002 as an interface for Logic. Like I said earlier I can get Logic to recognize my Digi 002 as an interface, however there are some real latency issues and I can't get Logic to recognize the 002's MIDI inputs.
    I apologize: I misunderstood your original post. I had assumed you were switching to Logic, not using it in addition to Pro Tools! My bad :/

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Digi 002 question...
    By VSProductions in forum Recording Techniques
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-09-2006, 03:22
  2. Digi 002 with Mixer??
    By renton in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-26-2004, 07:33
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-28-2004, 10:42
  4. digi 002 and I Mac 1g?! PLEASE HELP!!
    By shady656 in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-30-2003, 11:41
  5. Digi 002 vs Roland si24 vs 828 & mackie control?
    By rups712000 in forum Gear Reviews & Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-11-2002, 00:47

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •