Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Using the Channel Strips presets

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    15482

    Using the Channel Strips presets

    Sign in to disable this ad
    Anyone here uses the channel strips presets for your tracks? The other day I discovered those... and compared them to what I did... they were so much better. Am I lazy or are they good?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,213
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3820727
    They're just like any preset you'd find in a plugin, except they contain presets for multiple plugins. Treat them like you do any preset; try them out as a starting point, and tweak until you get what you are looking for.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    15482
    Do you end up using them a lot?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Abingdon, VA
    Posts
    3,017
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 33 Times in 28 Posts
    Rep Power
    18179791
    I almost never use presets. I wouldn't say you are lazy because the presets sound better... Just inexperienced maybe...
    "Nahhhhhhhhhhhh mannnnnnnnnnn. I ain't touching that mic. That thing's expensive."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Boulder, CO
    Posts
    7,487
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 421 Times in 391 Posts
    Rep Power
    14599014
    Eq and compressor presets are like someone else's route from home to work. It's unlikely that you'll get to your house to your workplace using their directions, but you may end up at some other cool place you didn't expect.

    If you want to end up at a particular destination you have to create your own route that accounts for your origin and desired end point.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    15482
    Make sense. I guess the presets also made me realize what you can put on a track...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Olijanovi View Post
    Make sense. I guess the presets also made me realize what you can put on a track...
    Also very educational: the templates and presets coming along with the Electro Swing Vol 3 sample library from waasoundlab.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    15482
    Do you own that library? It sounds really interesting

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hey Olijanovi,

    Yes, I'm the Content Manager at WaaSoundLab (and proud to say!). We produce Logic Pro templates in many genres, which is very interesting and educational to know how a pro puts a track together, and a good starting point to produce your own music.

    To come back to the Channel strip settings, they are configured according to the genres of music and tracks, with guts and gusto, so we think they are not useless and that they can, on the one hand give good ideas to the users and on the other hand, that they represent an opportunity to save time in the production process.

    Lastly, as usual, it all depends on the way one conceives the production, and on this point, I agree with Bouldersoundguy's image.

    Hope it helps!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Moving Channel Strips
    By itsme1234 in forum Emagic / Logic Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-18-2011, 15:40
  2. PM1000 Channel Strips
    By Spdrman288 in forum Free Ads for Music/Recording Equipment
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 12-19-2008, 19:28
  3. Joemeek channel strips
    By Fab4ever in forum The Rack
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-10-2005, 14:04
  4. budget channel strips...
    By dr.colossus in forum The Rack
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 11-11-2004, 06:39
  5. Mic Channel Strips
    By Snagglefinger in forum Newbies
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-13-2001, 16:45

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •