Question about effects

dudop5000

I'm new to Logic Pro and trying my best to learn what I can via youtube tutorials and such, but theres some stuff I just cant figure out how to do. For instance...

How can I add an effect to an individual part of a track. For example, I want a deep reverb on my snare but only for bars 6-8. I dont want a deep reverb on the entire snare track, but I cant figure out how to simply add the effect to a certain part. Please helpppp

Sunsetsdown has it right.

Check out this video for more general information on Automation. The real meat of what you will need it in the middle, but it won't hurt to watch all of it. . .
I would also heavily recommend watching more of SFlogicninja's videos on youtube if you haven't already started.

So once again:
  • Set up a bus on your snare track and turn up the little knob's volume
  • Put the reverb on the new created auxilary track
  • Use Automation to control that aux track. (I'd automate the little knob on your main snare track while keeping your aux track at a constant level. That's just how I work. It keeps the Aux track out of the arrange window.)

^ What baker said.

Here's another way to do it without creating the buss... If you want to use the effect as an insert rather than a send/return loop:

1. First, setup the reverb you want on the snare as a plugin. Then, under the view menu, select "Track Automation"
web.jpg

2. By default, the automation shows track volume. On the header, click on the grey bar that says "volume," and you'll get a menu with more options. Scroll up to "main" and then select the "bypass" option for the reverb plugin. In this example, my reverb plug is the 3rd plugin on the track.
web.jpg

3. Now, you can simply draw an on/off switch for the reverb wherever you want it. You can bypass everywhere except the 6 or 8 bars you want, and the reverb will just turn itself on/off when it gets to that point. In my example, I've turned the reverb off for the first vocal verse: