Is Logic Pro X that much better than Garageband

TMSongwriter

I've been using Garageband for a several years now and been told by many that I should go to Logic Pro x. I use it basically y to write and record my own songs, more of a hobby, certainly not a Pro at this. My question is:

1. I've been told that the layout is very similar, (I really hate the idea of learning a whole new software) Is the layout pretty close to garageband?

2. What are the biggest advantages to Logic Pro X?

3. I've been told that there are a lot more virtual instruments and loops available, is this true?

4. Any other differences I should be aware of?

It's not so much the money, the $200.00, it's learning a whole new system and not knowing if it's worth it, just to get the additional loops and virtual instruments.

Thanks to all who respond!

1. Depends on the version of GarageBand, but the current version is based on Logic Pro X, so the layout should look familiar, though many things which are "built-in" for GarageBand do get exposed in detail, and require a little more tinkering.
2. The ability to "tinker" with all the exposed settings that you don't have access to is one. Things like Compressors and Reverb (Space Designer, esp.) have a *lot* of different settings that make audible differences and really show the value of the built-in plugins, and you just don't get to all of those in GB. The "quick-swipe" feature in "takes" is a big timesaver if you do recording that way. You can create a comp in GB, but it's not nearly as seamlessly integrated. (To me, trying to figure out what I'm missing in GB is the kind of pain I recognize you don't want to go through, but I believe it's a valuable step up.)
3. The latest update for LPX has 27k entries in the Loops window, compared to 5.8k in GB. I didn't drill down in the software instruments but there are definitely more in LCPX.