Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Logic Express 8 --> Logic Pro 9

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Logic Express 8 --> Logic Pro 9

    Sign in to disable this ad
    How do I do it?!

    I've heard that you can just upgrade without being penalised by having tried the Express version first.

    I have Mac OS 10.5.8 if that means anything to anyone?
    Will this system support it?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    621
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    527398
    Quote Originally Posted by Jenny73 View Post
    I've heard that you can just upgrade without being penalised by having tried the Express version first.

    I have Mac OS 10.5.8 if that means anything to anyone?
    Will this system support it?
    The upgrade is, to the best of my knowledge, no longer available. You used to be able to move from Express to Studio/Pro for $299, but now that Apple has moved Logic to the app store, you can buy the whole thing for $199. So you're not "penalized" per se, but the upgrade path is gone.

    You do need to upgrade to at least 10.6.8 to run Logic 9. Apple Logic Pro 9 Specifications
    David Swinehart
    OAKPARKSTUDIOS

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by KineticSound View Post
    The upgrade is, to the best of my knowledge, no longer available. You used to be able to move from Express to Studio/Pro for $299, but now that Apple has moved Logic to the app store, you can buy the whole thing for $199. So you're not "penalized" per se, but the upgrade path is gone.

    You do need to upgrade to at least 10.6.8 to run Logic 9. Apple Logic Pro 9 Specifications
    Super!

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    252
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    566975
    I just upgraded from Express 8 to Express 9 by buying it open box on Amazon for $27.00 shipped. I got the sealed package with book, never been opened. I mainly wanted to go 64 bit, but the improved guitar amps and pedals and Flextime were gravy. And $27.00 is pretty damn cheap!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by dervish riff View Post
    I just upgraded from Express 8 to Express 9 by buying it open box on Amazon for $27.00 shipped. I got the sealed package with book, never been opened. I mainly wanted to go 64 bit, but the improved guitar amps and pedals and Flextime were gravy. And $27.00 is pretty damn cheap!
    You can say that again! Wow

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Creating & Sharing Templates in Logic / Logic Express
    By KineticSound in forum Emagic / Logic Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-18-2012, 13:00
  2. Logic Express 9.1.3 and Roland A-800 Pro Controller
    By Lídio in forum Roland, Boss, VS Series Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-07-2011, 17:00
  3. OK whats the difference between Logic Express and Logic Pro ??
    By kratos in forum Emagic / Logic Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-02-2010, 13:58
  4. Logic Express vs. Soundtrack Pro?
    By Unsprung in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-04-2006, 21:49
  5. Anyone have logic express/pro here?
    By panoramical in forum Recording Techniques
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-14-2005, 19:53

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •