Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Logic 8 Project - No Sound!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Logic 8 Project - No Sound!

    Sign in to disable this ad
    Hey Everyone,

    I'm posting my question here as well as on a couple other forums to see what happens. I have heartache over this trouble I'm having. I made a song for my mom who is terminally ill, and Logic is now acting goofy on me, right as I'm trying to wrap up this project! Anyway...

    Last night I was working on my audio project in Logic. It's got several tracks of MIDI, and several of pure audio.

    I did the following...

    • Added a track, put an Evoc20 (vocoder) on it.
    • Sidechained vocoder to an audio track, and played with various vocoder presets. Pretty cool.
    • Added another track.
    • Opened "Environment" window, added an arpeggiator.
    • Assigned arpeggiator to new track, dragged MIDI file to new track, and played with various arpeggiator settings.
    I liked the arpeggiator, so I plugged it in to another track as well and it sounded pretty nice.
    I saved my project, closed Logic, but left my iMac on overnight (I've done this before).

    This morning, I listened to everything again. I decided that I liked everything how it was originally, without vocoder and arpeggiator. So, I...

    • Went to "Environment" window.
    • Clicked on arpeggiator icon.
    • Deleted arpeggiator.
    • Deleted the Evoc20, and arpeggiator tracks in Logic's arrange window.
    Now all of a sudden my song does not play ANY sound at all! Nothing is muted, nothing is solo-ed. When I look at the region, the midi notes are there, or the audio waves are there. When I open the MIDI piano roll window and click on notes, I get sound.

    Other Logic projects play sound. Just not this one. All my regions are there with waves or MIDI, but it's like Logic is not seeing it. Has this happened to anyone here before? If so, do you know of a solution?

    It's probably something simple that I'm just overlooking. But I can't seem to figure it out. So far the only thing I can think of doing is dragging all my files to a new project and copying the channel strip settings. Would like to avoid that though.

    If anyone has any thoughts, that'd rock. Thanks!

    - d.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    169
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    16103
    So your MIDI regions aren't playing anything back?

    Check the environment window again and make sure everything is connected the way it was BEFORE you added your appregiator. Basically, you're physical input > input notes > input view > sequencer input

    My guess is either you're not connected back into your sequencer input or you don't have an instrument loaded on your MIDI track anymore. Also, if you were sidechaining from an audio track, make sure your audio track's volume is turned back up...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ranelagh Tasmania
    Age
    67
    Posts
    7,498
    Thanks
    178
    Thanked 533 Times in 427 Posts
    Rep Power
    21474856
    If the worst comes to thte worst and you can't get your song playing again, you can go to plan B . . .

    Create a new Logic song and import all your files into that.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-10-2008, 14:53
  2. Optimising Logic for each individual project
    By TerraMortim in forum Emagic / Logic Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-12-2007, 10:49
  3. Logic Pro missing project files
    By brummygit in forum Newbies
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-14-2005, 09:35
  4. Logic Sound Help
    By SGPIANOMAN in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-01-2005, 13:13
  5. Logic Audio - default to last opened project?
    By joemix in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-16-2002, 15:09

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •