Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Garageband to LE

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Garageband to LE

    Sign in to disable this ad
    Hey guys...fairly new to this whole thing but I've been goofing around with GB (Macbook Pro w/Apogee Duet) and was wondering if anyone can offer an opinion on making the jump from GB to Logic Express.
    I'm basically just putting down one track at a time for my own enjoyment but was wondering if it would be worth the $200 to make the next leap. I've become "adequate" at using GB and make decent recordings but would like to upgrade if it's not too complicated. I'm hoping that the basic process is the same but just offers the ability for more "tweaking."

    Cheers!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    the great north
    Posts
    639
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    58996
    logic is much more powerful and thus more confusing. I upgraded to express and that alone is an exteremly powerful tool.

    once you learn all of garagebands abilities i would move up (do you understand automation for example?) if you feel you need more then i'd movve up. I feel that garagebands editing capabilities are weak, as well as the built in instruments and the interface.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks for the response.

    No...not familiar with "automation" yet...guess I'll work with that next.

    Any other procedures you'd suggest I master before making the leap to Logic?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    the great north
    Posts
    639
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    58996
    i guess you could spend some time getting used to all the effects and learning all the functions (as much as possible) and then move up.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    621
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    527397
    I agree with tojo here... I just want to add that moving from GarageBand to Logic or Logic Express is, depending on how you're using GB, like moving from a toy to something professional.

    GB is a lot of fun, and you can make nice little demo's or voiceover commercials with it, but it's not meant for serious audio work. Logic is meant for serious audio work.

    The initial workflow is very similar. You create a track (software or audio input), perform or import music, and edit in a very similar fashion. That's where the similarities end. As tojo pointed out, the mixing environment is completely different - in a good way - in Logic. While GB does support basic automation of pan and volume (automation, by the way, just indicates that some parameter - volume, for example - is adjusting itself as the song plays without the need to move a fader, mouse, etc.), GB doesn't support most plugins or any automation of those plugins - at least not to my knowledge.

    You're moving from a basic volume/pan mixer like this:


    To a full-fledged mixer with endless plugins and full automation like this:


    Logic Express is absolutely worth the $199 Apple charges for it, and it will grow with you over time. Even in my commercial facility, I use the Express version (not Logic Studio) and it works amazingly well. It's solid software, has a good set of built-in plugins, has a great royalty-free library that comes bundled with it, and it seems to work with just about every interface on the market.

    Good luck with your decision!
    Last edited by KineticSound; 03-20-2009 at 12:10. Reason: Fixed pictures...
    David Swinehart
    OAKPARKSTUDIOS

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    the great north
    Posts
    639
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    58996
    couldn't agree with you more kinetic sound (apart from one thing!)

    garageband does let you automate effects now! I have ilife 08 and it allows for this and i'm sure ilife 09 does too.

    and yes logic is def. a huge step out. I still have not learned many of its capabilities.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    621
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    527397
    Whadd'ya know... I never looked at that "add automation" window. So it does.

    It's been so long since I had even opened GarageBand for a project... I used to use it every once in a while to track a quick VO, but now that I've got my templates set up in Logic I can work just as fast with more options.

    Good catch. To the OP, I stand corrected on the automation comment.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    David Swinehart
    OAKPARKSTUDIOS

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    the great north
    Posts
    639
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    58996
    garageband is pretty powerful considering it doesn't have track limits. but i just couldn't do the editing, i found it so clumsy and cumbersom. other small things like not being able to resize the track bothered me as well.

    @kinetic sound... how do you make a template in logic ? do you just set up the tracks with the inputs you usually use and file>save as template or something?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Tojo & Dave...thanks for the responses...I decided to make the purchase and look forward to getting started. I also ordered an instructional book which I'm sure will come in handy.

    Thanks again!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    the great north
    Posts
    639
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    58996
    if you have questions check out this forum which is specifically for logic!

    http://logicprohelp.com/

    the modertor guy even has a book for logic! (i rented it from my local library)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. A Garageband for PC?
    By professir in forum Newbies
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-11-2018, 20:22
  2. Anyone use GarageBand???
    By homebrewery in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 07-16-2008, 07:28
  3. Using Garageband
    By cettelbrick in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-27-2007, 14:52
  4. garageband.com
    By Cuzme in forum DJ & Hip Hop Production
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-27-2004, 09:17
  5. Garageband.com
    By drstawl in forum Marketing Your Music / Publicity
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-16-2000, 09:05

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •