Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 13 of 13

Thread: Garageband 10

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Chicago Suburbs
    Posts
    3,323
    Thanks
    814
    Thanked 600 Times in 577 Posts
    Rep Power
    4927291
    Sign in to disable this ad
    You might also consider Reaper. It's free to try out, and a non-commercial license is $60-70 last I checked.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Garageband Drummer

    New member. Often I lay down a guitar and bass track without using the metronome. When I then lay in the "drummer" track it is clearly no synced with the instrument tracks. I tried to check "follow" iand selected one of the instrument tracks but it does not work. Am I forced to use the metronome from the very beginning in order to have the drummer track in sync?

    Any suggestions would be appreciated

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    U.K.
    Age
    34
    Posts
    19,465
    Thanks
    1,206
    Thanked 1,027 Times in 907 Posts
    Rep Power
    1000000
    Quote Originally Posted by MZAP View Post
    New member. Often I lay down a guitar and bass track without using the metronome. When I then lay in the "drummer" track it is clearly no synced with the instrument tracks. I tried to check "follow" iand selected one of the instrument tracks but it does not work. Am I forced to use the metronome from the very beginning in order to have the drummer track in sync?

    Any suggestions would be appreciated
    I don't know about Garageband but in other DAWs I know it's possible to manually map out tempo changes to make your grid (and therefore drum patterns) follow an existing recording.
    It's also possible to come at it the other way and use time stretch tools to make your audio comply with a tempo.
    I'd be surprised if garageband offers that, though.

    If possible it's much easier to just establish a tempo from the start and record to a click or, better yet, arrange your drums first and record your audio with them as your reference.
    I understand sometimes songs have tempo changes etc but even working that out in advance and mapping those changes is a much easier approach, in my opinion.

    It'll also force you to consider the arrangement and have your foundation mapped out and understood before recording a bunch of stuff which is usually no bad thing.
    It might ruin your working method if you're experimental or creating on the fly or whatever...Just a suggestion.
    ---------- Steenaudio Website ----------

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Anyone use Garageband.com???
    By matttheaxe in forum Marketing Your Music / Publicity
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-20-2010, 06:50
  2. Garageband Anyone?
    By xraidedariez in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-11-2006, 14:20
  3. GarageBand?
    By Nalencer in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-17-2005, 19:18
  4. Garageband.com
    By drstawl in forum Marketing Your Music / Publicity
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-16-2000, 09:05

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •