Drum replacement does not create midi region

patlang12

I am new to logic and I am trying to use the drum replacement tool. I select the track and click drum replacement/doubling. A new track is created, but it is empty. No midi region containing trigger notes is created as I see happen in all the tutorials and manuals I have looked at. As I said I am new to logic and very easily could be doing something dumb. Anyone have any ideas whats going on?

Try Adjusting the Threshold Level during Prelisten

The drum replacement/doubling threshold needs to be set to a level that can read the notes you want (and not read the notes you don't). It's possible your threshold level is off.

After the selected track is analyzed, select what drum sound you want and if you want it doubled or replaced (I click doubling, replacement seems to get rid of the original track, which I definitely do not want.) I then click "Prelisten" and start adjusting my threshold level until I find a good match of peaks with doubling. The doubling has never come out perfect for me so I edit the midi data manually as needed.

Hopefully you can get it to work, it's a really nifty tool! Peace!

Thanks for the reply. I have tried messing around with the threshold, but I still can't get it to work. When I go through the process a new track is created, but it is empty. If it was a problem with the threshold I would expect to see at least a midi file with no events in it, right?

The track to be replaced/doubled is highlighted (aka selected), then "drum replacement/doubling" is clicked under the tracks tabs (working from memory as I'm away from my mac). This track is analyzed, which can take a few seconds-minutes depending on the length of the track.

A dialog box appears that you can now set the drum's sound (snare, toms, others), select what drum sound you want (the samples are under the Media tab on the right-hand side of the screen).