rendering versus other options?

GreenDank

is it me, or does rendering a premaster mixdown (in reaper) sound worse than when the song is playing before rendering? shouldn't it sound pretty much the same? it seems like that's where I lose a lot of my sound quality. Does anyone record their mix to another computer (or other device) and use that as the premaster rather than rendering? Is there anything else I should be considering to improve the rendering process?

What are your settings when you render it? I dont have any issues like that when i render my mixes from Reaper.

Nicole

Try using 16bit and see wat happens. I was having issues with rendering when i had it set to 24bit but when i changed it to 16bit I havent had ne issues since then. That might work or it might be something else causing the problem. Im no expert on Reaper cause i just really started using it for recording/mixing. Hope that helps or atleast get you two steps closer to a solution.

Nicole

what are you recording at in project settings?

If there is a resampling going on there will be some change in the sound. Of course we also have elastique now, so that could be played with :)

what are you recording at in project settings?

If there is a resampling going on there will be some change in the sound. Of course we also have elastique now, so that could be played with :)

I just use whatever defaults are in there....is there a particular item I should be looking for in the options--->preferences area?

file --> project settings--->audio settings tab

Make sure you have it set at 44.1 if you are going to CD, otherwise you will will have to change from 48, 96 what have you down to 44.1 and you loose info when doing so. And for rendering I use the 512pt sinc...and no I don't know what that does vs 192pt sinc.

summing

Does anyone record their mix to another computer (or other device) and use that as the premaster rather than rendering?

well,