Who Rules?

alphadelta80

I have a good friend who just recently sold me his old computer with the following prorams installed: Cool Edit Pro 2.0, Nuendo 1.61, Cakewalk Pro_Audio 9 and Cakewalk home studio, Cubase SX, Wavelab, and Logic Platinum. I notice that Nuendo, Cubase and Wavelab are all made by the same company (Steinberg). I would like to know which program is the best for recording and editing. Not just the Steinberg products but all the other abovementioned programs as well. I record with the Yamaha AW4416 (because I'm So comfortable with it) and then I import the WAV.s into one of these programs to edit the waveform graphically and add some cool effects from various plug-ins. I'm new to this computer-based recording/mixing/editing thing. I use these programs at random to do my editing. I want to find out which is the most powerful program so I can stick to that one and focus on that one so I don't have to juggle my time around trying to leard 10 different programs at the same time. I would love it if there was some way I could focus on one program and use the knowledge of one program to help me understand the functions of the others. Are any one of these software progs close-to-industry-standards? Are any of them a-hell-of-a-lot more Pro-level than the others? I just want to know where to direct my time and energy. Please help.

if you go to the "computer recordig" forum, there is a poll as to which software people use. I think Cool Edit Pro is the most used, followed pretty close by cakewalk products. Cubase seems pretty popular but it seems like there is a lot of complaints about it crashing and stuff. I don't know though as i have barely ever used cubase. Why has your friend put all of those programs on his computer? why would he go through the troulbe of installing all of the sound editing programs when you only need one? that would just take a long time learning how to use them all.