Newbie Audition question

scifiw

Hi,

I'm new to Adobe audition and I need to put together a conversation from 2 .mp3 files. I'd appreciate some help and input regarding how to go about it.

So the two .mp3 files were recorded by 2 different people with different equipments. While both of them are good quality there are some differences. On one of them the voice of the speaker is louder and sharper.

I also have to cut out the sentences so they come one after the other. At least that's what I think I should do.

Could you please advise how to start, and what effects or settings I should use to make it sound that the conversation was recorded in one place?

Thanks

To put two files together just go to multitrack view and drag both files in - one to a track. I am assuming you are wanting to put the two files together to simulate a conversation that never happened, so to speak. You have some options on how you want to proceed.

In AA you can manually alter the file's length by "grabbing" either end toward the middle of the edge and shortening the file until to have your end point. Do the same with the second file to isolate the sentence you want. Right click the second file and slide it against the first file. Check to see if it sounds "right" to your ear. For the third sentence pull the first file into the multitrack view again, isolate the next sentence as above and continue. You can pull both files into multitrack view as many times as you want to. It's all non-destructive.