Editing methods

Dig

I have a quick question that may be very simplistic to many of you but since I am fairly new at the editing stuff I am hoping to learn a bit more as I go along.

After mixing down a file in CEP 2 what steps do you do first?

In other words should I
1.) Normalize
2.) EQ
3.) Amplify
4.) Compress

- Does it matter?
- Obviously I may not have to all of these things but if I did is there a better order to do them?

Thanks for the help!

hey dig
first of all, do you REALLY need to do that? its not by law that you have to do all things. anyway if you think that drums may need a little compression or maybe that guitar solo should be a little amplified in order to get that sound you want....well thats another thing

if you are going to edit audio, why dont you edit BEFORE mixing down? its almos impossible to fix something when it has been mixed down with everything else

or are you talking about mastering???

Memo

oh, and if i had to i'd go this way
1.- compress
2.- eq
3.- amplify
4.- normalize

or i dont know...it really depends in how it sounds and how do you WANT it to sound

Ok maybe I need to be a little more specific for this one project.

I recorded a concert that was all guitars. 6 guitar players. All using amps except for one that was strictly acoustic. I setup two mics in front of the group.

Fortunatley the sound came out quite well. You can hear all the players very distincly. So I took it off my recorder as 2 wavs, left and right and put it in CEP. Now it is a solid 11/2 hours of music with clapping in between each song.

I mixed it down and cut it in half, burned a cd for one of the halfs and played it on a few different systems to get an idea of the sound.

Overall it was a little to quiet as I had to turn the volume up no matter what system I played it on. Also I noticed it was a bit boomy. They dynamic range is quite extreme as it goes from 6 guitars playing at once to an acoustic solo and all in between.