Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Thread: dBVU vs. dBFS

Chicago area, probably looking for more coffee.
    Thanks
    Sign in to disable this ad
    Have you read anything on this thread...?

Thanks

stupid stuff

ok so first off i dont know what the heck im doing!! i haev a line 6 toneport ux2 or soemthing like that and i've been trying to lay down some tracks with cool edit and when i select my driver it dont work ...i know its powered through the usb but my cousin had it working just on that with sonar ..but i dont understand why it wont work like that on cool edit ..any suggestions?

wes
    PS ....im VERY new to this and am horrable with computers to begin with

Thanks
    You might be better asking this as a new topic in the Cool Edit forum.

Thanks
    There is still the potential for ambiguity with RMS amplitude measurements, since some use the RMS value of a full-scale square wave for 0 dBFS (which corresponds with a 0 dBFS peak amplitude measurement), and some use a full-scale sine wave (which corresponds with typical analog RMS measurements).

* In the case of a FS square wave = 0 dBFS, all possible dBFS measurements are negative numbers. A sine wave of larger amplitude than −3 dBFS would be clipping by this convention.
    * In the case of a FS sine wave = 0 dBFS, a FS square wave would be at +3 dBFS.

The measured dynamic range of a digital system is the ratio of the full scale signal level to the RMS noise floor. The theoretical dynamic range of a digital system is often derived by the equation

\mathrm{DR} = \mathrm{SNR} = 20 \log_{10}(2^n) \approx 6.02 \cdot n

This comes from a model of quantization noise equivalent to a uniform random fluctuation between two neighboring quantization levels. For instance, 16-bit audio has a quoted dynamic range of 96.33 dB.