Cool Edit Pro Help

TraceBell

Ok so I'm kinda new to home recording. I've been using usb mics but I jus got an m-audio m track 2 and mxl 770. Everything works fine with it but when I record and play It back the quality is terrible. The vocal quality that it is picking up is horrible and even after I edit and mix it it's still terrible. Is this a mic/interface/computer/ cool edit problem? I apologize in advance if I'm been too vague. The other thing that has been going on forever in my cool edit is every recording track the quality gets progressively worse. Tracks 1 and 2 are fine, vocals recorded on those tracks are perfect but once I record on track 3 the vocals are signifcantly worse. And the track 4 is worse than 5 and then 5 is worse than 4 till you can barely even hear the vocals the quality is bad at around like track 10. I can't figure it out and no one seems to have the same problem. Sorry if these questions are annoying/ stupid just can't figure out what's wrong
thank you

Yep . . . your vagueness doesn't help with the diagnosis. However, I expect it is none of "mic/interface/computer/ cool edit" as such.

I expect all these bits of the recording path are all working fine. With the little information at hand, it does sound, however, like a routing problem, in that when you are recording new, you are overlaying it over old somehow. This could come from a variety of places. For example, if you are recording, and are monitoring through speakers, the mike could also be picking this up.

Or you could be doing the same thing functionally with settings on the interface or in the DAW, or both.

I'm guessing here but...

Cool Edit depended on the Windows mixer to control signal routing--and it was easy to default to a situation where you were recording a mix of tracks already recorded and the new stuff. Each time you re-record the original it'll get louder and soon clip/get distorted.