CEP and GL 824 timing issues

SpamBurglar

Hi there,

I am new to this BBS so I don't know if this question has been answered before.

I am using CEP 1.1 and a GL 824 interface. Very cool interface BTW.

In CEP, if I go to record 8 channels, sometimes one set of channels (usually 1&2) start out of time. How I have tested this is to send a click track to all 8 channels through my Mackie 1604 and then zoom in on a click to see if they all line up. Sometimes a pair of channels are a little ahead of the others. If I change the horizontal view to Sample instead of Decimal and highlight the amount the pair are ahead, it is 4096 or 2048 (these numbers ring any bells?) samples ahead. I don't have to be recording all eight for this to happen. It did it while only recording a single track while listening to 2 or 3. Also, when I start recording and CEP is allocating the tracks that are record enabled, it sometimes takes 2-3 seconds to go from one track to the next (I don't know if this last thing makes sense to anyone but I don't really know how to decribe it). Once it is recording and the counter is rolling, it doesn't pause or skip.

Let me give you a bit more background. I was using a P-233 with a 4GB PIO mode 4 drive and, although I was close to the PCs limit while recording 8 at a time, I never had any problems like this. It was at least stable, although too slow to be workable for me.