CE Pro slows down on playback

Bill L

Massivdonian
I've been using CEP for a couple of years and I've never had this problem. I recorded about 74 min of audio as 1 stereo track, edit it as I normally do and save. When I play back the file, it plays slower and slower until it's barely playing at all. Once a file like this plays, all the other files play like that as well. I have some multi track sessions and mixdowns from other projects that worked fine but now also play slow. Anyone know what's going on and why I'm seeing this? And, more importantly, how to fix it?
TIA,
Bill L

Nope...

like someone has their finger on the turntable and it's playing at half speed, and then it gets slower and slower until 120 bpm is down to about 30 bpm. I'm talking really slow!

Bill L

It's probably your computer. If it slows down on playback, you need to get more ram, especially when using plugins. Also, sometimes stretching out the bar on the top that stretches the waveform bar out slows it down. Make it small so it requires less effort for the computer.

CEP Slow down

fattmusiek wrote:
It's probably your computer. If it slows down on playback, you need to get more ram, especially when using plugins. Also, sometimes stretching out the bar on the top that stretches the waveform bar out slows it down. Make it small so it requires less effort for the computer.

It's a 2.2 gig P IV with 750megs of ram. I've burned hundreds of CDs with no problems. When viewing the waveform, it's all on the screen at the same time. I look at the clock and it's not running correctly. Very peculiar indeed.

dobro wrote:
D'you think it's the huge file size in this case as well?

I've been doing this for 4 years and never had a problem until no. Even on computers with much less power. I'm going to try bringing the wav file to a different computer and see if that plays slow. Thanks for all the comments guys.

Bill L

How much free space do you have on your hard drive?