Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Adobe Audition for Win. XP only?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Kansas City, KS
    Age
    44
    Posts
    217
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    42511

    Adobe Audition for Win. XP only?

    Sign in to disable this ad
    I have CE2K right now and was going to upgrade to Adobe Audition (only $99, why not?)
    It says at the website, built for Win XP, yet under system requirements it says Win 98SE, which is what I'm running. Does anyone know if Win 98 SE will work?
    thanks,
    Werewolf

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Cincinnati Punk Rock
    Posts
    1,544
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3259863

    Cool

    you can get the windows xp upgrade for the same $99. Only $99 why not

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Posts
    9,932
    Thanks
    174
    Thanked 117 Times in 116 Posts
    Rep Power
    15816955
    Um, I understand that a hundred bucks isn't all that much money for good software, but I've got a question: what can Adobe Audition do that Cool 2.1 can't?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Kansas City, KS
    Age
    44
    Posts
    217
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    42511
    I didn't realize I could upgrade to Xp that cheap. I really don't know much about Operating Systems, I just use what's on my computer!

    Dobro, i don't have Cool Edit 2.1, I have Cool edit 2000. Adobe is repackaging 2.1 as Abobe Audition and offering it for $99 to existeng Cool Edit 2000 users. For 99 bucks, I'll try it. I'm not really a daw person, I use Adats to track, but I wouldn't mind trying some computer recording program just to check it out.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    1,055
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    19
    Actually, you can get Windows XP Home, full version (OEM) here for $102.

    It doesn't have all the fancy packaging, but it's a full version, not an upgrade disc.

    That's what I usually buy when I build a system.

    I would definitely upgrade; I would have switched to Mac by now if I still had to use Win98.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Age
    58
    Posts
    491
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    19
    Unless Adobe actually change something in the software, there's no point in upgrading yet. Its simply a transition to Adobe's name. The upgrade (or transition ) should be free. When they actually add new features I might upgrade but untill then im not paying for different name.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Cincinnati Punk Rock
    Posts
    1,544
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3259863
    Originally posted by Polaris20
    Actually, you can get Windows XP Home, full version (OEM) here for $102.

    It doesn't have all the fancy packaging, but it's a full version, not an upgrade disc.

    That's what I usually buy when I build a system.

    I would definitely upgrade; I would have switched to Mac by now if I still had to use Win98.
    sweet thanks for the link- but it says it has to ship with hardware to comply with the license agreement. whats that bout- do they send you like a broken old 286 motherboard just to say it shipped with hardware?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    South Dakota
    Age
    42
    Posts
    170
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    25391
    Make sure you do the upgrade before the offer expires..

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    1,055
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    19
    Originally posted by kremitmusic
    sweet thanks for the link- but it says it has to ship with hardware to comply with the license agreement. whats that bout- do they send you like a broken old 286 motherboard just to say it shipped with hardware?
    I see where you read that, however that company doesn't even sell hardware, and I've bought OEM stuff before and never had an issue. Weird. Also, when I clicked through to add to cart, it didnt say anything about hardware.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Cincinnati Punk Rock
    Posts
    1,544
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3259863
    Originally posted by Polaris20
    I see where you read that, however that company doesn't even sell hardware, and I've bought OEM stuff before and never had an issue. Weird. Also, when I clicked through to add to cart, it didnt say anything about hardware.
    **shrugs shoulders** i dunno- if it works it works! Thanks for the link

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •