Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Adobe Audition update

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Wales
    Posts
    782
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    35

    Adobe Audition update

    Sign in to disable this ad
    I noticed the free update from CEP2 to Audition is now available and have downloaded it.
    Unfortunately, it won't install. I get something like "Error initialising update file"
    Has anyone updated yet?
    As one door closes, another one slams in my face.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    S.W. Florida
    Posts
    495
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    77

    Re: Adobe Audition update

    Originally posted by Jim Y
    I noticed the free update from CEP2 to Audition is now available and have downloaded it.
    Unfortunately, it won't install. I get something like "Error initialising update file"
    Has anyone updated yet?
    I purchased CEP 2.1 about 4 months ago in boxed form. I have now decided to go ahead with my free Audition upgrade. I follow the instructions to the "T", and when I get to the prompts just before installation, I get this message:

    "Setup could not find a qualifying product. You may install a qualifying version of the product, or contact adobe customer service."

    Is there anyone out there that has had this problem, or anyone who can give me some suggestions? I am at a loss since I have a obviously possess a "qualifying" version. Thanks in advance. ---Lee
    Having children is like being pecked to death by chickens.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Age
    32
    Posts
    729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    59
    I've updated successfully

    I just downloaded the file from the website.
    It came with a serial number.
    When I installed it, it said that it was only updating and not new install yet after the install both CEP and Auditon were there.

    Tukkis

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    S.W. Florida
    Posts
    495
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    77
    Originally posted by Tukkis
    I've updated successfully

    I just downloaded the file from the website.
    It came with a serial number.
    When I installed it, it said that it was only updating and not new install yet after the install both CEP and Auditon were there.

    Tukkis
    There be many other not as fortunate as yourself. Are you using Win XP? Did you upgrade from CEP 2.0 or CEP 2.1? Curious here. ---Lee
    Having children is like being pecked to death by chickens.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Age
    32
    Posts
    729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    59
    I'm using Windows 98SE.

    Upgraded from CEP 2.1

    It's nothing new anyways. Everything is mainly the same. I think it integrates with Adobe Premiere though.
    The layout is all the same just with a Adobe Audition logo.

    Tukkis

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    South Dakota
    Age
    42
    Posts
    170
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    25391

    Re: Re: Adobe Audition update

    Originally posted by SOUND DIAGNOSIS
    I purchased CEP 2.1 about 4 months ago in boxed form. I have now decided to go ahead with my free Audition upgrade. I follow the instructions to the "T", and when I get to the prompts just before installation, I get this message:

    "Setup could not find a qualifying product. You may install a qualifying version of the product, or contact adobe customer service."

    Is there anyone out there that has had this problem, or anyone who can give me some suggestions? I am at a loss since I have a obviously possess a "qualifying" version. Thanks in advance. ---Lee
    CEP 2 has to be installed while you're installing the AA upgrade.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    S.W. Florida
    Posts
    495
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    77
    CEP 2 has to be installed while you're installing the AA upgrade
    All of us with this specific installation error are aware of this. Thanks. ---Lee
    Having children is like being pecked to death by chickens.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    South Dakota
    Age
    42
    Posts
    170
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    25391
    OK, hope you figure it out. I imagine Adobe tech support is rather backed up lately...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Wales
    Posts
    782
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    35
    Well ok. I downloaded the upate again and it worked. I had to turn my virus scan off, I think it may have screwed the first d/load. Should have checked the file size - you should see 28026KB in explorer. A fair chunk of that is the new and crappy Audition "demo" multitrack session. Nice of them to include that - NOT!

    I think the updater really might expect to find CEP2 (2.0 or 2.1) in the default folder - C:/ProgramFiles/CoolPro2/
    Just to be sure, I put the update .exe in there too.
    Hopefully, for those with multi-boot to several o/s partitions, the C: won't be essential. If it is, well, DUH!

    It actually installs Audition as a complete and seperate entity - you still have your CEP2 installation.

    There don't appear to be any improvements to the program. Audition neither includes nor supports the Syntrillium CD burning plug-in.
    Looks like they spent the last couple of months just renaming everything in the prog and help files.

    Ok- so its worth getting Audition to make future upgrades possible BUT it doesn't look like Adobe are a good company, despite or because of their high position in pro media software, I don't think they understand the audio market.
    Weekday only and telephone only tech support? (actually, in all the years I've used CEP, I never once needed tech support!)
    Listing the product under Digital Video software?
    No entry level version - CE2K is no more - they've handed the audio market over to Steinberg. Idiots!
    As one door closes, another one slams in my face.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    S.W. Florida
    Posts
    495
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    77
    Originally posted by Jim Y
    Well ok. I downloaded the upate again and it worked. I had to turn my virus scan off, I think it may have screwed the first d/load. Should have checked the file size - you should see 28026KB in explorer. A fair chunk of that is the new and crappy Audition "demo" multitrack session. Nice of them to include that - NOT!

    I think the updater really might expect to find CEP2 (2.0 or 2.1) in the default folder - C:/ProgramFiles/CoolPro2/
    Just to be sure, I put the update .exe in there too.
    Hopefully, for those with multi-boot to several o/s partitions, the C: won't be essential. If it is, well, DUH!

    It actually installs Audition as a complete and seperate entity - you still have your CEP2 installation.

    There don't appear to be any improvements to the program. Audition neither includes nor supports the Syntrillium CD burning plug-in.
    Looks like they spent the last couple of months just renaming everything in the prog and help files.

    Ok- so its worth getting Audition to make future upgrades possible BUT it doesn't look like Adobe are a good company, despite or because of their high position in pro media software, I don't think they understand the audio market.
    Weekday only and telephone only tech support? (actually, in all the years I've used CEP, I never once needed tech support!)
    Listing the product under Digital Video software?
    No entry level version - CE2K is no more - they've handed the audio market over to Steinberg. Idiots!
    Tried everything I could, including update.exe into cep2 folder with no luck. Same message:
    "Setup could not find a qualifying product. You may install a qualifying version of the product, or contact adobe customer service."
    This sucks. Why me???
    lol
    Having children is like being pecked to death by chickens.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •