Waves replaced with silence! desperate.please help

Richard sagman

any one with compassion
i have been recording with cakewalk for a few months & had success & joy.
My c drive is now full & i set the audio options - advanced -data directory to save my waves on another hard drive.
i then tried to play my songs & all the waves have been replaced with silence.
i reset the audio optionas to the original but its no returned my waves.
i know they still exsisit cos ive found them as seperate waves but i cant get the computer to recognise them.
I have limited computer knowledge ( hey im a musician) so if you understand the problem please explain as if to a moron.
I am desperate 3 months of hard work are gone & ive lost the urge to keep recording.
please help
richard

I gave up on CW for audio a while back, so I know how you feel. But don't give up just yet. Clarify what's going on and I'm sure someone here will sort it out.

Did you save these files as .bun files?
Was each .wav file rendered using the "exported to wav" command?
Are these .wav files playable with Cool Edit or Media Player?
Just how full have you left your C Drive; i.e. number of MB free?
What drive/directory do you have set to keep "takes" up until the time you use the "save"
command?

did you change the folders in globel options?
make sure you point to the right folders in both places.
good luck
dave

Richard,
The same thing happened to me a while back.
The way I got my song back was to simply restart my computer. I hope this helps.

cruz

thanks for the help so far & to anyone trying.
to clarify my situation & maybe find the solution.
I dont know what a .bun file is so i doubt i set one up.i didnt set an exported to wav file that i know of.
yes i can find the files & play them with my media player but i cant get the program to recognise them even if i set the original settings again.maybe the files im hearing with the meadia player are back ups or not the originals i was using.i just dont know.