Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Stops during playback

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    nashville, TN, US
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Angry

    Sign in to disable this ad
    my cakewalk6 express stops during playback, I hit play and it will start playing agin but a few sec later it will stop agin. Can anyone help me with this problem?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Wink

    You didn't say what operating system you are using. I had the same problem with CW6 and it turned out to be CW6 does not work in Windows98. I had to upgrade to CW8. If you are using Windows95 and having this problem, I might suggest you go to Cakewalk's site. They have an excellent FAQ section there. I've been working with CW for 3 years now and have only had to call tech support twice. I've been able to find the answers to most of the problems I run across in the FAQ section. Hope that helps.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    nashville, TN, US
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Lightbulb

    I'm using Win98 but I have been using it for a while and I'm just now having this problem I must have changed something. Well I will soon be getting CW9 so that should solve the problem i hope. Thank for the help

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    207
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    22

    Wink

    I had a similar problem using Cakewalk (I believe 7) and a SB Awe 64 card. Alhough it's not the best solution, I was able to get Cakewalk to work flawlessly with digital audio by disabling most of the MIDI features on my sound card.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Posts
    137
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    21

    Wink

    It's called "dropout", at least Cakewalk 9 explains you what just happened, where Cakewalk 6 just stop playing. It's simply because it couldn't receive all the audio data in time, or the cpu was too busy and Cakewalk could go on.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    bowie, md
    Posts
    1,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    197208

    Lightbulb

    how often do you defragment your hard drive? i'm assuming that you compact your audio after you do any substantial audio processing. normally, i compact the audio after any session wherein i've done any processing, and i defrag my disk once a week (well i forget alot, but i do it on sunday nights).

    in addition, i keep my executables and my audio on separate drives. my cakewalk, wavecenter, and redroaster software is on the C drive, and the audio is on my SCSI drive.

    sean IzReal wright http://www.crosstudio.net
    recording@crosstudio.net

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    bowie, md
    Posts
    1,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    197208

    Lightbulb

    how often do you defragment your hard drive? i'm assuming that you compact your audio after you do any substantial audio processing. normally, i compact the audio after any session wherein i've done any processing, and i defrag my disk once a week (well i forget alot, but i do it on sunday nights).

    in addition, i keep my executables and my audio on separate drives. my cakewalk, wavecenter, and redroaster software is on the C drive, and the audio is on my SCSI drive.

    sean IzReal wright http://www.crosstudio.net
    recording@crosstudio.net

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Posts
    440
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Wink

    Cakewalk 9 gobbles up memory like there is no tomorrow. I never experienced this problem with Cakewalk 8. All things considered I find Version 9 to be superior to 8. The unfortunate trade-off for the improvement is the fact that it eats memory. I have upgraded my system to 256MB of SDRAM and I continue to experience Dropout with as few as six audio tracks despite the recommended corrective actions (i.e., defragment drive, minimize TSR programs, optimal global settings etc.) Santa Claus brought me an additional 128MB which I am glad to report has helped the cause.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Newport Beach, CA USA
    Posts
    5,220
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 44 Times in 42 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Question

    What's the improvement if you're getting dropouts when playing 6 tracks? With 384MB
    how far can you push it before getting dropouts? And what CPU are these MBs hooked up to?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    180
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    22

    Wink

    gee, I'm getting 8 tracks with an eq on each channel in CW8 with a lowly P166 and 64 megs!
    How fast is your SCSI drive?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •