Sonar vs. Nuendo vs. Cubase and others

Koroshiya1

Hey guys...

I'm just starting out in the whole home studio stuff. I was just curious - how does Sonar compare to Cubase and Nuendo (I'm guessing they are in the same ranks).

Also, how far below the ranks of ProTools and Logic is Sonar?

Thanks!

Shortest answer is:

http://www.tweakheadz.com/review_of_Sonar_3.htm

Scroll half the way down.

You know what? Instead asking how they compare to each other, you better list what you need, go to their site, read their features, compare to your list, and ask here if you have specific question about Cakewalk. Don't get me wrong, but most of us get tired of this "Aples and oranges" questions. Good luck :)

;)
Jaymz

Koroshiya1 said:
how does Sonar compare to Cubase and Nuendo
Basically, they all do the same job. It's just a matter of taste. And our taste is excellent! :D

Every car will get you from point A to B, but would you like a Mercedes (that being Sonar) or would you like a Lada (Cubase, Nuendo, virtually every other piece of recording equipment). :D

Koroshiya1 said:
Also, how far below the ranks of ProTools and Logic is Sonar?

Thanks!

Well, since this is the cakewalk forum and a new release of Sonar 4 was announced yesterday, I guess I should ask how far below the ranks of Sonar is ProTools and Logic?

No really...it all depends on your needs and cash flow. Try them all out if you can, then make your decision.

Beltrom said:
Norwegians don't manufacture anything. They've got oil.
;)

That's right!
We don't have to steal it from Iraq... :eek:

You guys are going to take this the bad way, but I couldn't resist... :D

dachay2tnr said:
Looks like a Volvo before the discovery of quality control. :D :D

Must have been before World War? My Volvo is 19 years old and still runs. Volvo is from Sweden, that explains a lot, as Moskus puts it. Mercedes rust. German crap like Cubase. So get yourself a Volvo and you will have plenty of upgrade money until Sonar 25 is released.