Recording drums: hardware advice needed

takk

My first post, wow!

I have been using Cakewalk/Sonar for 3 years now, and even if there is something better out there, it's what I know and I'm sticking with it.

I'm a guitar player. I mostly use Sonar to record guitar using a Line6 FlextoneII direct through an m-audio AudioBuddy preamp into a SoundBlaster Live! card (yeah, I know). I also use a Zoom123 drum machine to add drums, also through the preamp.

The question:

The band that I play with is going to start rehearsing at my house, and I want to make some halfway decent recordings. The big problem is going to be the Drums. Currently, I can only record 2 simultaineous mono tracks (line-in L/R). I know that I need at least 3 mics on the drums and 4 would be even better. What should I buy?

I know that I can get an inexpensive 8 track mixer, use it as a sub-mixer and record it's output to 1 stereo track on SONAR for drums. But them I'm stuck with the mix.

I should also add that I don't mind at all not being able to record everything live (drums, 2 guitars, bass, and vocals). After the drums I have no problem laying down everything else later.

The only options I can think of is to get some kind of porta-studio for just recording/mixing drums, and use SONAR for everything else. Or, get some type of sound card or something that can record at least 4 tracks at the same time.

Now, this is only a hobby I don't want to spend $1000 but welcome any suggestions. Thank you.

- Takk

takk said:
I know that I can get an inexpensive 8 track mixer, use it as a sub-mixer and record it's output to 1 stereo track on SONAR for drums. But them I'm stuck with the mix.
Then you need a multi IO card such as the Delta 44, Delta 66 or Delta 1010.

And "takk" means "thank you" in Norwegian. ;)