Panning disappears when I bounce or export as mono

malgovert

Good morning

I’m facing a problem for which I need an urgent solution, as I have a mastering session booked for next week and the engineer needs the final mixes today. Everything is fine in terms of the music and tracks themselves, but the problem I am facing is this: when I mix down the entire song (using bounce to tracks) in SonarX2, it’s fine if I bounce as a stereo track, but if I bounce as mono I lose all panning – everything is moved to the center. All other effects are retained. Worse, the same thing happens when I export as a mono wav file. Again, if stereo, no problem. Never happened before, and cannot find a solution anywhere. Appreciate any advice or ideas! Thanks a lot.

That's what a mono file is: the exact same signal coming from the left and right sides. You're always going to lose all panning info when rendering down to a single mono file. If you want to retain panning, then you'll have to render to a stereo file.

Never happened before, and cannot find a solution anywhere.

What do you mean it never happened before? The only way it never happened before is because you never did a mono bounce before.

Mono is always mono. Same exact thing coming out of left and right speakers. This makes it sound like it's coming from the center. Of course all your other effects such as reverb, etc will still be there.

A stereo mix/bounce is distinctly different sounds coming out of left and right speakers.

Well I don't know, but I never took stereo wav files to the studio before and they always retained the panning effects - I was listening to one from the last session last night. If you open it up you see one strip of audio, not two, so it's mono, right? Mono to me is one audio clip instead of two within the same track, but within that one strip you can have different sounds situated in different areas of the mix. If other fx are retained why should the panning for the individual tracks not be?