Older version of Sonar and Win XP

PorterHouse

Hello everyone I am new to this board and I am looking forward to contributing to this site as well as getting some answers answered.

I do home recording as well as everyone eslse here.
I came to this board by way of a friend.

I have been DJing for the past 26 years and I am just getting into all that technology has to offer with sound recording.

I am using Reason 2.5 and the sonicfoundry softwares to complete diferent projects.

Enough about myself and now I will just ask for help.

I have been using Sonar 2.0 for a while now and have not upgraded to cakewalk's newer version 3.0.

Anyways I just built a new pc that has windows XP and my sonar is not loading up.

When I try to install the program a message appears and says it could not find Direct x 8.1.

I went to the directx site and they only have directx 9.0 available for Windows XP. So I down loaded it as if that would cure my problem. Still the the same problem.

I can firgure this out for the life of me.

Has anyone had or even know of this problem I am having?

Thanks in advance to all that reply.

PorterHouse,

Sonar 2 requires that DirectX 8.1 is to be installed on teh system, it won't install with DirectX 9 (which I'm assuming that is what you are running atm), until you run the link on this site:

http://www.cakewalk.com/Support/DX9.ASP

Sonar 3 prompts you to install DirectX9, however I'm 95% sure it works on DirectX8 :D

Porter

It's on the CD and if it is not installed, it will prompt to install it.

The cracked version of 2.0 that I found prior to buying 2.0 XL, does not include the DirectX binaries and will not install without them.

Porterhead - I apologise if I have got you wrong. Contact Cakewalk support and they will get you working inside ten minutes.

Either way, upgrade to 3.0 and do yourself a favour. The bus-routing capabilities are worth it by themselves.

Q.

I know, I was a bad, bad man but the devil made me do it.