Newbie questions (short)

Sunking

Is there a "Cakewalk for Dummies" book out? I'm just starting to use cakewalk and im overwhelmed. Or are there any tutorials online/sites that could help out a newbie? I dont wanna pester you guys with basic questions other than these. Thanks.

Are you using Pro 9? There aren't any books that I'm aware of besides the manual, but if you access HELP and then scroll through the HELP topics beginning with the Tutorials, that should be all of the reading you'll need. What exactly are you having problems with?

I AM also a new cakewalk pro 9 user.
im recording audio from my guitar to amp to mic to yamaha mixer then to sound blaster live card. My playback isnt that great it is not loud enough for my liking. does anyone know what the main contributing factor is to make louder recordings. also im having trouble with timing. I will play a a bar and it might be slightly off so i t makes it impossible to cut&paste or add layers. Isnt there a way to make audio fit?
also, for certain rythms i cant seem to find the right timing adn beats per measure & stuff it just doesnt work out nomatter if i play it in timing i cant get it to end where it is supposed to so i can properly cut and paste . please PLEASE HELP ME . A TUTORIAL WOULD ALSO BE NICE.

Sunking: I'm not quite sure if this is your problem, but don't even look at all the stuff you don't need yet. Follow the tutorial in the manual, and record tracks (i.e. set the source to your soundcard, hit the little [R] button to arm the track, push the record button, and sing or play away). Once you find you need something, go to the manual or the online help, and figure out how to do that, just make sure you don't get off track (i.e., reading about how to eq a track when you started by looking for how to arm a track).

And don't worry about pestering us... if we don't want to respond to your 357th post, we'll just ignore you... seriously, it's what some of us are here for.

William Underwood