Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: MIDI track audible in WAV file?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    Age
    63
    Posts
    78
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    18

    MIDI track audible in WAV file?

    Sign in to disable this ad
    I've always understood that a MIDI track does NOT export to a wave file unless you bounce it to an audio track first as MIDI information is not audio. So that's what I've always done... create a MIDI track, bounce it to an audio track and mix to taste before exporting to a WAV file.

    Well I just exported a file with a number of audio tracks and one MIDI track that was unmuted. I had NOT bounced it to an audio track to I left it unmuted when I exported to WAV knowing that it wouldn't come out anyway (I didn't want to hear it in the mix at this point anyway).

    Low and behold! I have a WAV file with the MIDI sound in it! How did this happen? Did I miss something in upgrading from Sonar 3 to 4?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    7,264
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 40 Times in 34 Posts
    Rep Power
    21474861
    Assuming you're using a softsynth,there is no need to render your MIDI file to audio.You only need to render the file if you are using a hardware synth.

    When you export or bounce,it will play the tracks as if you hit the play button.
    You didn't mute it,so it was played on the bounce.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Joisey
    Posts
    10,553
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 44 Times in 37 Posts
    Rep Power
    9012900
    Quote Originally Posted by acidrock
    Assuming you're using a softsynth,there is no need to render your MIDI file to audio.You only need to render the file if you are using a hardware synth.

    When you export or bounce,it will play the tracks as if you hit the play button.
    You didn't mute it,so it was played on the bounce.
    Exactly right. DXi's or VSTi's will export without converting to audio first.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    Age
    63
    Posts
    78
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    18
    Thanks! I'll know not to take the extra step in future!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Ok now i'm confused

    What was said in this thread regarding rendering midi tracks to WAV or MP3 is consistent with what the Acid Music manual I have says. The problem I keep coming up with is how to use a soft synth. I have the insert soft synth button and there is a DLS soft synth that get's installed when I click it but the ability to render the track is still impaired - menu choice doesn't open up.

    Anyone have any ideas for me?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    nevermind.......

    I just figured it out. There is an ever so tiny icon on the track that lets you assign the midi device for playback. if you pick the softsynth - the render option opens up.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Somewhere between here and nowhere
    Posts
    271
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    23483
    Great to know, I've been bouncing those.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    Age
    63
    Posts
    78
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by Albertm
    Great to know, I've been bouncing those.
    I know what you mean... I've been bouncin' them for years... I guess I didn't get the memo!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Somewhere between here and nowhere
    Posts
    271
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    23483

    Smile

    Good thing I'm a newbie, maybe it saved a few weeks of my life!!!!

    Hey, that being said. When I do use a soft synth. (Drum or guitar program) I notice some programs settings get saved when you save overall sonar program. Some don't. So you have to remember and reset the settings every time you reopen project. Does this happen to you? Seems a waste of thime.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    7,264
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 40 Times in 34 Posts
    Rep Power
    21474861

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Albertm
    Good thing I'm a newbie, maybe it saved a few weeks of my life!!!!

    Hey, that being said. When I do use a soft synth. (Drum or guitar program) I notice some programs settings get saved when you save overall sonar program. Some don't. So you have to remember and reset the settings every time you reopen project. Does this happen to you? Seems a waste of thime.
    Do you hit save each time you close the project?
    If not it will revert back to the last "save".

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Another Midi Routing Question
    By beatknock in forum MIDI Mania
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 11-14-2007, 03:15
  2. Problem converting soft synth MIDI to WAV
    By HomeMadeHitShow in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-12-2006, 13:26
  3. Completely MIDI CONFIG Illiterate
    By Outhabox in forum MIDI Mania
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-10-2006, 09:43
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-01-2002, 20:08
  5. midi and wav into mp3?????
    By flattop in forum Recording Techniques
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-30-2000, 10:34

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •