Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: howcome i cant playback more than 8 trax??

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Question

    Sign in to disable this ad
    is it me or my soundcard er what...but when i get to track 9 it says ill have to mute another channel in order to playback or record....help!!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA, USA
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Cool

    Hey, I'm not an expert on these things, but its prob. your soundcard or your memory.

    BBlak

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    The Covington Lodge
    Age
    52
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    27787

    Wink

    You neglected to mention what Cakewalk product and version you are using.

    Whatever you are using, it is limited to 8-tracks and you ain't gonna get any more without upgrading software. Dem's da breaks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Wink

    thanx fellas...im using cakewalk home studio 9...and i have a soundblaster awe 64. i know its a weak card, but cool edit allows me unlimited trax...whats the deal?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Great White North
    Posts
    3,358
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Wink

    Home studio 9 only allows 8 stereo tracks.

    If your recording mono sound sources, there should be a way recording the track mono, instead of stereo. This would give you 16 mono tracks.


  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    The Covington Lodge
    Age
    52
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    27787

    Wink

    <BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>Home Studio is limited to 8 audio tracks. Does a stereo audio track equal two tracks or one?
    A stereo audio track is counted as one track, not two. You can therefore record up to 8 tracks of stereo audio, which is the equivalent of 16 mono tracks. You are limited to 8 mono tracks, so by recording stereo tracks in version 9.0 you're essentially doubling your audio track capability. Cool!

    -- From the Home Studio FAQ page <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

    Uhh, yeah... cool! Unless you don't want 8 tracks panned hard left and 8 tracks panned hard right. Your best bet is to get your mix sounding good, and then bounce multiple tracks to a single track. This gets tedious if you have a lot of tracks and/or decide to change individual levels or effects later (which I almost always do). Or you could upgrade to Pro Audio 9, which has unlimited tracks.

    I don't like this marketing approach, personally. Since the development has already been done for Pro Audio, it would cost Cakewalk NOTHING to put unlimited tracks into Home Studio. They sell you a crippled piece of software cheaper, knowing that a lot of folks will upgrade when the outgrow 8 tracks. That said, I do use Cakewalk for almost all my mixes. It's a love/hate thing.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Great White North
    Posts
    3,358
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Wink

    If they put unlimited tracks in Cakewalk Home Studio, it would be Pro Audio 9.

    I wouldn't call it crippled. Just cheaper.


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Great White North
    Posts
    3,358
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Wink

    Cheaper, as in a lower $ package for a different market.

    PG: I had an alternate reply here, but after rereading your quote... that is a damn scam. In samplitude Basic you can record 16 mono tracks, or 8 stereo... not this 8 tracks period.

    Misleading for sure.




    [This message has been edited by Emeric (edited 05-30-2000).]

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    The Covington Lodge
    Age
    52
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    27787

    Wink

    <BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>If they put unlimited tracks in Cakewalk Home Studio, it would be Pro Audio 9<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

    My point exactly. Not that _I_ can tell them what they can charge for what they offer. I just have lots of opinions and no problems spouting off about it.

    It makes more sense to me to just drop the price of CPA a bit and offer a demo to the cost conscious part of the market in today's climate. But folks would have to stop buying the track limited software before Cakewalk would even consider it, I imagine. That shouldn't take long once the word gets out.

    [This message has been edited by pglewis (edited 05-30-2000).]

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •