Thread: howcome i cant playback more than 8 trax??

Thanks

Question

Sign in to disable this ad
    is it me or my soundcard er what...but when i get to track 9 it says ill have to mute another channel in order to playback or record....help!!!

Thanks

Cool

Hey, I'm not an expert on these things, but its prob. your soundcard or your memory.

BBlak

Thanks

Wink

You neglected to mention what Cakewalk product and version you are using.

Whatever you are using, it is limited to 8-tracks and you ain't gonna get any more without upgrading software. Dem's da breaks.

Thanks

Wink

thanx fellas...im using cakewalk home studio 9...and i have a soundblaster awe 64. i know its a weak card, but cool edit allows me unlimited trax...whats the deal?

Thanks

Wink

Home studio 9 only allows 8 stereo tracks.

If your recording mono sound sources, there should be a way recording the track mono, instead of stereo. This would give you 16 mono tracks.

Thanks

Wink

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>Home Studio is limited to 8 audio tracks. Does a stereo audio track equal two tracks or one?
    A stereo audio track is counted as one track, not two. You can therefore record up to 8 tracks of stereo audio, which is the equivalent of 16 mono tracks. You are limited to 8 mono tracks, so by recording stereo tracks in version 9.0 you're essentially doubling your audio track capability. Cool!

-- From the Home Studio FAQ page <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Uhh, yeah... cool! Unless you don't want 8 tracks panned hard left and 8 tracks panned hard right. Your best bet is to get your mix sounding good, and then bounce multiple tracks to a single track. This gets tedious if you have a lot of tracks and/or decide to change individual levels or effects later (which I almost always do). Or you could upgrade to Pro Audio 9, which has unlimited tracks.