How do I record guitars via USB multi-effects pedal?

Growler_Rob

HI, total noob here.

I'm trying to record electric guitar and bass to Cakewalk by Bandlab via a Digitech RP500 but seem to have hit a wall.

I realise that this is probably not the ideal way to record guitars, but I don't have the funds to buy a USB interface such as a Focusrite or similar, so was wondering if anyone out there has relevant experience of recording via a USB multi-effects unit straight into Cakewalk; I can't find anything helpful online and have been searching for hours.

I go to Preferences > Audio > Devices and the RP500 is greyed out, so I can't do anything there, whereas in the MIDI section, I can check and uncheck the RP500 (it's on its own in the Inputs section) and there are options for both that, and MS GS Wavetable Synth in the outputs section but I haven't the foggiest idea what I should be doing.

I apologise for my ignorance, but this is all new to me and it's getting to the point where I'm considering selling some gear and buying an old Minidisc eight-track and just using a DAW for bouncing audio.

Can anybody please help me?

Id get an interface before getting a MiniDisc.

Yes, the Pedal would work best into a interface....you might have to fine a cheap used one and get it on. Maybe someone has a free one you can have...

Have you installed all the relative drivers and software for the Digitech on your system? Plugged it directly into the computer with a known, working USB cable?

It should work as a source device in any DAW, at least according to the manual. (I recorded my L6 HD floorboard that way several times, both on Windows and Mac.)

You may also need to only have one application trying to attach to the Digitech at the same time, so I'd make sure the editor software is not running. Just a thought - Windows can be funny about audio device/application routing.