Cannot fix latency

cwhowell2

This is not a rant or list of complaints. Just a plea for help. I'll try to summarize. I've been using Cakewalk since 1990 (DOS version) and have upgraded pretty much every other release. I had some success with computer based recording with Cakewalk Pro Audio-9 many years ago but was never able to get Sonar to overcome the latency issues. Using Scott's book I was able setup and try some recording but have never been able successfully record. I use a stand-alone 24 track recorder so Sonar is basically just my sequencer and soft-synth player for now. I have tried several times in the past to get computer based recording working but the only control over latency seems to be buffer size. Adjusting that does eliminate latency, however it also introduces clicks and stutters. There doesn't seem to be a middle ground. So with my configuration as below, what can I do to eliminate the latency problem? Thanks, Bill.

Dell Optiplex 9020 - Intel i7-4790 3.6ghz - 2 1tb HD - 16gb mem Win 7 Pro SvcPk 1.
Sonar X2 Producer (X2A build 351 - x64)
Interface: Scarlett 8i6 - Mixctl 1.8.128.0 - Driver 2.5.1 API 3.0
1) Is there anything besides buffer size that I can adjust?
2) Are the newer version Scarletts better performers?
3) Would upgrading to X3 help? I hate to keep spending money on upgrades that do not seem to help.

I assume you mean input monitoring latency. If you're talking about record latency, alignment of the tracks after they've been recorded, that's different.

Are you using MixControl? That should make input latency practically nothing.