Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Cakewalk Guitar Studio - new Aureal sound card -- sound distorting

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Cakewalk Guitar Studio - new Aureal sound card -- sound distorting

    Sign in to disable this ad
    Hi - I just upgraded an old run of the mill Soundblaster Ensoniq sound card to an Aureal SQ1500 and now I'm hearing distortion in the demo files included in Guitar Studio. I don't hear distortion when I play back regular wav or mp3 files.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Englands Rose of the Shires
    Posts
    3,955
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    6203627
    When you play back the demo tracks, whats happening to the peak meters? Are they clipping i.e. turning the peak warning lamp red?

    What kind of distortion are you hearing?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Aureal SQ1500 & Cakewalk GS

    Thanks for responding-
    It seems that the bass notes are distorting...and it's not cranked... a CD played on the same computer at that volume isn't distorting. I'm embarrassed to say, but I can't even seem to find the meters on here to see if they're clipping..haven't used this software in a very long time

    thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Coffee shop around DC-Maryland-Virginia...
    Posts
    5,252
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    1672724

    Smile

    To find a meter, open the View Console...

    When you play a sound, the track's led meter should be dancing through the sound... Can you see it...?
    Keep Rockin' and Rollin'...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    hmmm

    thanks... I did find the meter...though there is no activity on the meter when I play one of the sample cakewalk files...
    is it me or is something wrong here?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Any ideas as to why there's no activity in my meters when I play a cakewalk project file? My soundcard is an Aureal SQ1500. MIDI device is set to Vortex AU8810 Wavetable

    thanks

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    7,264
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 40 Times in 34 Posts
    Rep Power
    21474861
    Is there a software mixer for the soundcard?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    As far as I can tell, it's just using the Windows mixer.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    ??

    This is driving me nuts... I've concluded there is only one mixer active for the sound card... the levels in the Vortex/windows mixer are fine... I'm still getting the distortion, in the form of clicks, coincident with bass notes/kick drum, in the demo MIDI files included with GS.

    Anyone?

    thanks

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Englands Rose of the Shires
    Posts
    3,955
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    6203627
    There is something very wrong here. Cakewalks meters should be dancing away as Mr Argo says when you play back. That is independant of whatever soundcard you have. And on top of that you have bass distortion on midi playback?

    It appears there is a fault somewhere in your midi playback loop, I just don't understand how midi plays back and yet you cannot see the meters moving. They are enabled okay? Right click on the meter and select 60db from the list of options. You wont see cakewalks meters moving on mp3 or wav playback unless they are loaded into cakewalk, so a CD wont move the meters either.

    But is GS midi enabled? I thought it could play back audio only? Its either that or something isn't right in your Aureal midi set-up. There has to be a simple explanation here.

    Midi is different to mp3 and wav, it is a set of "instructions" to whatever is your midi device to play a certain note at a certain velocity for a certain amount of time......you get the picture. So it is your selected midi device that supplies the "sound". And as its not playing correctly, it could be that is where your problems lie.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •