beginner.. Piano roll..instruments..drums on 10.. what next??

womoma

Hey all
I am a relative beginner to cakewalk [6]. I am startin to get into making my own music having recently lost a piano :eek: and needing another creative output.

Anyways what I can do now is:
Make a tune with cheesy pads, naff bass, synthy lead etc.. :(
drums on channel 10 :p
insert a wav sample [which always goes out of sync :confused: ]
fuck around with the volume of a channel using the panel.. :o

so where do i go next?
what areas should i investigate to improve on?

and finally how is the best way to make an awefully MIDI sounding song into a more natural sound?? at present I am putting chorus and affects on some tracks [mostly pads] using soundforge....

T.I.A.

womoma

Welcome to the board.
Post your complete PC spec, including your soundcard, OS, etc. Which Cakewalk (did you say version 6 ? :confused: ). And what actualy do you need to achieve?

;)
Jaymz

hey

packard bell imedia 5109 pentium4, crappy onboard sound [sis650]

using cakewalk 6. also have soundforge and a few softsynths. Im mostly interested in making acid jazz and chillout but into all electronic music apart from hardhouse and cheesy.

specifically tho i want to learn more about cakewalk and how to make my cakewalk tunes "come to life" a little more..
also curious to know about any features i may not be aware of or taking full advantage of...

T.I.A.
womoma

me being relatively new to cakewalk myself (about 2 months Pro Audio 9) and just having made my first real banger beat (my other one is in the clinic, in which no one ever replies to me hint..hint..) i have made a few discoveries myself. i share my knowledge with u.

1. Groove Quantize is useless, unless i just don't know how to use it, which is problably the case.

2. sometimes automation just shows up in my projects, even though i never recorded it.

3. do not attempt to print sheet music with cakewalk, because U CAN'T!!